OPEN LETTERS

An Open Letter To People Who Say “Spend Money Like A Drunken Sailor”

Rob Janicke
Open Letters To
3 min readFeb 22, 2021

--

Photo by Rebecca Lee on Unsplash

Dear Bad Phrase Users,

You’re lazy!

I’ve never been a fan of “sayings” or clichés because I think they’re lazy. I also think they’re dumb. They’re lazy and dumb and I don’t like them.

Some are worse offenders than others of course and this one, the one this letter is about, takes the cake! Dammit, ignore that. Anyway, the letter.

I’d love for you, or anyone from your little cutesy talking club, to explain where this abomination of a phrase comes from? Once you’re done word vomiting an answer to that, can you then kindly explain why you use it?

Who among you has ever seen a sailor just willy-nilly throwing bundles of cash around while slurring words and falling down steps?

Let’s be honest for a second here

You do not know, nor have you ever known a sailor. Ok? Ok.

Let’s pretend for a moment you do know one, and what a tale that would be, you have NO idea how often that sailor drinks, how much money they spend, or how much money they have.

Are there even stores in the ocean?

--

--

Rob Janicke
Open Letters To

Former indie record label owner currently writing my first book, SLACKER - 1991, Teen Spirit Angst and the Generation It Created. Follow me on IG @rob_janicke