An Open Letter To Someone Struggling With Depression

Felix Otoo
Open Letters To
Published in
2 min readMar 1, 2021

--

Photo by Mateus Souza from Pexels

Hello Dear,

These words are not mine.
They are deeply inspired.
And it goes out to you and anyone who is wrestling with life, wishing to survive.
Trying to find a reason to keep going and not give up.

I know it’s hard and I feel it.
I know it’s hard, and I see it.
Deep down in your eyes, I know you’ve been going through it.
You don't have to hide it, because I’ve been where you at,
with tears dripping down, flowing, but you don't show it.

You’ve got to be strong, and that's what you've been telling yourself.
So you learn to wear this broad smile while you crack jokes to friends.
Friends who can not see through the facade, that you are not happy.

Most of your friends, they say you are easy going.
You’re the kind that let things slide and never hold grudges.
And some they even say you are gorgeous, both within and without.

But only you know you,
how you are breaking down.
You are imploding.
The screams inside of your head it’s getting loud.
And the words inside of your lungs…

--

--