OPEN LETTERS

An Open Letter to the Company That Tried to Give Their Female Employees Makeup Lessons for International Women’s Day

It’s good to see how far we’ve come

Sarah Courtney Burry
Open Letters To
Published in
3 min readMar 9, 2022

--

Photo by Jazmin Quaynor on Unsplash

Dear multinational company based out of France that rhymes with Map In the Sky,

It’s International Women’s Day — a day to celebrate all the kick-ass women across your organization. It’s a special time to champion gender equality and inclusiveness.

And you meant well. We know you did. After all, you sent this very nice note to all your female employees in Mexico this morning.

Image from Canva from the author

Now, to be honest, I may have changed the content of your note a teensy bit. But not the part about the makeup session. That was all you.

I cried when I saw this. I wept. With laughter. Truly.

Offering women in 2022 makeup courses, takes balls. And clearly, you have some (unless, of course you lost them today).

But that’s beside the point.

I am sure you spent hours mulling over this perfect gift. You probably had to cross out a…

--

--

Sarah Courtney Burry
Open Letters To

5X top writer. I love to use satire and humor. I write about travel, politics, family, feminism, sports, health & music. So, basically everything.