OPEN LETTERS

An Open Letter To The Guy Hawking Spirituality Seminars on YouTube

I Hate You

Sadie Morghan
Open Letters To
Published in
3 min readApr 13, 2021

--

Photo by Mikhail Nilov from Pexels

Dear Spirituality “Guru”.

Look, man. You ruined my life. Somehow my wife stumbled across your channel when she was looking for cat videos to annoy me with. I guess she subscribed because the next thing I know all she’s talking about is the things you say and do.

I miss my quiet, Guru. We’ve been married long enough that we didn’t have anything new to say to each other. I liked it that way. I’d come home from work, one of us would cook, then we’d watch tv. I never had to say a damn word besides “pass the salt.” Or goodnight.

The quiet was blissful. Sure I wish we had more sex but hell, the wife always says that she needs to be connected for sex to work. It’s not just physical for me, husband. Why don’t we talk anymore? Once a month ain’t a lot, but it’s a small price to pay for a good life.

Well after watching you blather on, the wife started getting ideas. No more silent nights. No more Jeopardy. No, she wanted to talk about manifesting a better relationship and bringing crap into being. I don’t know what any of that means. I tried listening for a while but she wouldn’t stop. So I left the kitchen.

--

--

Sadie Morghan
Open Letters To

Writer and student of life and its beautiful mysteries. Drinker of beer, coffee and herder of machines. I write to make you both feel and think.