An Open Letter to the Manager Who Didn’t Hire Me

Thanks for the lobster

Olivia Dunn
Open Letters To
Published in
4 min readMay 25, 2021

--

Photo by burak kostak from Pexels

Dear Hiring Manager, a.k.a The One Who Got Away,

Things were going so well.

You responded to my overture of a cover letter. You asked if I wanted to meet in person.

I did. Indeed, I did. Thursday at 2 pm sounds lovely. See you then.

I found your building easily because I’m a dork who made sure to walk by it the night before. #interviewstealth

The weird dude sitting in (not next to) the large concrete planter outside the building, crushing the Ficus bush, was still there talking about the end of the world. He muttered that I was a sinner. To be fair, he told everyone they were sinners.

Our eyes met across the boardroom. We shook hands and started our intricate, primal dance.

You had an open job position that was perfect for me. I wanted it.

We talked. You were happy with my answers and my experience. I asked a few questions, and you seemed impressed with the research I had done. You told me then, and there I would be put through to the next level of interviews. You would be present for that interview as well. You joked that we were now interview buddies.

My heart beat faster.

We repeated this process three more times with three more executives. Every meeting seemed to be better than the last. You were with me every step of the way. After each interview, you said, “I think X really liked you and your work experience.” You said I brought a lot to the table. There was other #workspeak, but I was too dazzled by the possibility of ‘us’ to pay attention.

You asked me to meet for lunch before my last interview. We met up at a bistro, not a regular run-of-the-mill restaurant. You suggested I order the lobster. It was delicious. You said, “We come here all the time.” Was I wrong to feel like you were including me in that “we”?

I felt like I had this job on lock. I mean, come on! Four successive interviews and a lobster lunch at your favourite place right before meeting the Vice-President? Swish.

My meeting with the Vice-President went well. You smiled the whole time. She smiled the…

--

--

Olivia Dunn
Open Letters To

Writer | Autoimmune Arthritis Warrior | Navigator of Ups and Downs