OPEN LETTERS

An Open Letter to the Significant Other I Caught…

…Making sure his wife/girlfriend was resting peacefully in the breeze.

Crystal A. Wolfe
Open Letters To
Published in
3 min readMar 7, 2022

--

Imaged captured via Pixabay

Dear Mr. Sweet Man,

There are not many days out of the year in Florida when I can drop my back deck and turn it into a patio. Some days, it feels like I’m being suffocated in Mother Nature’s armpit. Other days, I’m grateful that I am curling my toes in warm, sugary sand and not in freezing snow.

On a rare day in late February when I was itching to put the RV deck down, I found myself reading a book with my feet propped up.

Screenshot provided by the author reading one of her favorite stories, by author Laura Thalassa.

In between paragraphs, I heard the rough *clink* and *clunk* from a pair of kids playing a game of horseshoes.

Sipping on my wine and contemplating my next Medium article, I found myself starring at a cute couple in the distance.

Under the palm tree, I saw a woman passed out in a hammock and catching some much needed sleep.

I could not wonder what she was dreaming about. As a woman with insomnia, a part of me was jealous that she could fall asleep so quickly. On the other hand, I couldn’t help but wonder if I should wake her up to prevent sunburn.

Yes, you can still get sunburnt in Florida in the winter.

Next, I saw a man holding his Guinness in one hand and gently rocking her to sleep with the other.

At that moment, I knew that man was a keeper.

Like a protective lioness, I watched her sway under the shade, Honey, I’ve been that tired before too, and I want to make sure you get some needed sleep.

Trying to return my eyes to my iPad to continue reading one of my favorite authors, I could not help but cast a scrutinizing eye towards Mr. Sweet Man.

Is he still rocking her?

Is she still asleep?

As the kids hang from a tire swing and their dog chases his tail, he remains by her side. Still rocking his wife asleep, I watch him scan the horizon for any potential threats. In fact, I quickly thought of this man as the lion protecting my RV community.

This man melted my heart seeing him rock his significant other asleep. In fact, I wanted to walk over to him and give him a fresh beer.

I don’t know who you are, Mr. Sweet Hammock Man. However, you are a great example of a man who can make someone’s heart melt by doing just one simple thing: Rock your loved one to sleep.

Sincerely,

Your Awe-Struck RV Neighbor

--

--

Crystal A. Wolfe
Open Letters To

Creative writer, full-time RVer, & travel enthusiast. Follwer her on her adventures on Facebook, Instagram & YouTube at: https://linktr.ee/CrystalAWalker