SATIRICAL OPEN LETTERS

An Open Letter to the Woman Trying to Meditate

You call it mediation. I call it the silent treatment.

Sarah Courtney Burry
Open Letters To
Published in
3 min readJan 1, 2022

--

Dear Sally

You breathe in and out. In and out. You close your eyes and try to focus on your breathing. Only I am not going to let you, because I really hate this game. You call it mediation. I call it the silent treatment. And you are robbing me of my sole purpose in life — to think.

I’m a high caliber machine. I’m the brains behind this whole operation. I churn out roughly 70,000 thoughts a day. That’s 35 new thoughts a minute.

I’m a Lamborghini. Hear me roar. And you don’t want to slow me down or get in my way. Because the more you do, the more random shit I will throw into your head. Believe me.

Now you’ve closed your eyes. You are breathing slowly. You are trying to find your inner peace. So, I say, let the games begin.

You turn your focus to your heartbeat.

Well, you try. Because, I say, not today my friend.

I come your way with a stream of random thoughts.

Let me tell you about Doris who is cheating on her husband.

--

--

Sarah Courtney Burry
Open Letters To

5X top writer. I love to use satire and humor. I write about travel, politics, family, feminism, sports, health & music. So, basically everything.