OPEN LETTERS

An Open Letter to the Woman Who Said I Did it the Easy Way

My experience as an adoptive mother

Patricia Rosa
Open Letters To
Published in
4 min readMay 17, 2021

--

Photo by Marcin Jozwiak on Unsplash

She fixes all the broken things

When you’re in love, she’s got a ring

To give to you, she hopes you’ll give away

She don’t care who you give it to

Where they’re from, if they pray like you

As long as they are good to you, that’s enough

First thing she taught you was love is love

She’s your mother, you love her

There won’t be another place like her again that you call home

She stands here to help you, there’s nothing she won’t do

As long as she’s alive, you’re not alone, you’ve got each other

That’s your mother

Sugarland Jennifer Nettles, Kristian Bush

Recently Kristina God said she looked forward to hearing about my adoption story.

What’s it like being an adoptive mother? Maybe you’ve heard someone say you did it the easy way. Yay, right whatever.

My path wasn’t easy. I adopted my now ex-husband’s biological grandchildren. I recall my ex telling my mother, “what…

--

--

Patricia Rosa
Open Letters To

Blending boomer work ethics in an online world. Editor of The Workplace Journal and the Pet Cafe