OPEN LETTERS

An Open Letter to Toxic People in Animal Crossing Facebook Groups

You people know it’s just a game, right?

Viola Geena
Open Letters To
Published in
5 min readMay 31, 2021

--

The author’s animal crossing character posing in front of a teddy bear string quartet decoration.
Screenshot of the author’s in-game island.

To whom it may concern,

Every Animal Crossing New Horizons Facebook group claims to be a drama-free zone where people can connect with others who also play Animal Crossing.

While the smaller groups generally achieve this incredible feat, the large groups are intimidating and, frankly, toxic. Did you people really think that you could achieve a drama-free space on Facebook of all platforms?

Animal Crossing gave me much-needed stability in the early months of the pandemic.

When my work as a musician was cancelled indefinitely, I got an island getaway package from Tom Nook. I spent my days catching bugs, diving for pearls, digging up fossils, and mining resources on mystery islands. Keeping up with the daily island chores gave me something to look forward to in a time of great uncertainty.

I played offline for about a month before investigating the Facebook groups.

While Nintendo Switch Online play is not a requirement to play the game, it adds a social element and allows you to collect more items. We can host gatherings on our Animal Crossing islands during these times…

--

--

Viola Geena
Open Letters To

Canadian writer who happens to be a violist in a symphony orchestra. All opinions are my own. Twitter: @violageena