Word of Mouth

To All My Readers Everywhere: Do Your Part!

From Your Lips To Everyone’s Ears

Scott Hughey (TheWriteScott)
Open Letters To
Published in
2 min readMar 8, 2021

--

The Exciting New Marketing Technique. Image by Scott Hughey via Canva Pro

Dear Everyone Who’s Read Anything By Me,

I just learned about this wonderful form of advertising called Word-of-Mouth.

Maybe you’ve heard of it?

Apparently, when someone REALLY enjoys something they’ve read, they’re supposed to talk about it. If I understand this correctly, the end result is new readers throwing heaps of cash at my feet.

This sounds way easier than what I’ve been doing so far.

  • Amazon ads
  • Twitter ads
  • Very nearly running Facebook ads then backing out at the last minute
  • Newsletters
  • Spam
  • Pagan sacrifices
  • Writing new and better material

According to Investopedia, 92% of consumers trust what you, my readers, have to say more than they do the ads, tweets, and threatening emails I’ve been sending out.

And yet, AND YET, this whole writing thing is still a part-time job. A side-hustle, if you will.

Clearly, someone’s not doing their part. Since I remember putting the writing in, the fault must be with…

--

--

Scott Hughey (TheWriteScott)
Open Letters To

He’s a geek with social skills. Scott writes humor, satire, and pop-culture with a touch of self-help. Find his Amazon books here: https://amzn.to/2LDQxjy