Opinion

What Happens When the Right Doctor Chooses the Wrong Drug

Exploring your Doctors’ dilemma when it comes to prescribing

🌬️Mitch
Open Microphone
Published in
6 min readApr 28, 2024

--

Picture of an optician examining an man’s eye with a magnifying lens
Image by 12019 from Pixabay

nonmembers can read this story here.

A risky decision

The prescription in front of me was for a drug used to treat glaucoma — a situation where the fluid pressure within the eye is high enough to cause damage to the optical nerve. Untreated, patients eventually go blind.

But the patient was 7 years old and in 20 plus years of working as a pharmacist, I’d never experienced such a situation.

I knew the child, he was a smart, bespectacled little gentleman, his earnest face and steady gaze was better suited for a much older child. It was hard to believe he needed to be on what would normally be an older person’s medication.

His father was not convinced.
“Mitch, I don’t want to give my son that.” He pointed to the prescription. I could understand why, the father himself used the same drug and he didn’t want to give it to his child.

To be honest, I didn’t want to dispense it either, but I’d looked through the Product Information, and the PI didn’t say anything about age restricted use.

--

--

🌬️Mitch
Open Microphone

Just the guy next door, glad to meet you. Pull up a chair let's stir the pot together. Reach me at: lacks@mail.com.