Settings and Cinematics of Open Source Cinema

Boys On Hudson
Open Source Cinema
Published in
2 min readApr 11, 2018

To tell the story, I begin with setting up some sort of 3D environment as the stage where I will put in my story elements, characters and props. I’ve tried to create two different scenes here. One is with the Google Street View, and another is using the panorama image.

(1) Google Street View
http://sayhellotoalan.co/others/osc/setting_streetview/

I played with the code that Dan gave us, and set the location of street view to where I grew up. I have a mix feeling of nostalgia and amnesia at the same time. I moved to another city twenty years ago, and haven’t visited this town ever since. There are things I can still recognize in the street view, and there are also new things I’ve never seen. It’s familiar yet strange. It feels like juxtaposition of space and time in my head.

(2) The Panorama Image
http://sayhellotoalan.co/others/osc/setting_panorama/

After Nicolas’ workshop, I took his code of three.js, which contains camera, scene, container and renderer, and put in an image I made. The image was taken on the ITP floor, and I duplicated, flip horizontally and applied fading mask to it in Photoshop, which created a feeling of infinite loop.

--

--