Don’t Miss Your Train Station with a Simple Notification

Glimy
Open Source Ideations
2 min readApr 23, 2020

--

Ever missed your station when your eyes were glued to your phone and your earphones just blocked out the train announcer? I did. And I wish there’s this simple app that just pushes a notification whenever you reach a station or probably your favorites.

In the case of iPhones, you can have the app’s notification not to show on Lock Screen and Notification Centre. Free of digital clutter.

Yes, I lied about the title. The idea is simple but implementing it’s an entirely different story. I did a prototype of the idea with IFTTT, all I did is set a geo-fence around one of the train stations. If my phone enters the designated area using GPS, it will trigger a notification through the IFTTT app. But in Singapore, more than half of it’s MRT stations are underground plus the IFTTT app might be constantly using GPS just to check if you’ve enter the geo-fence.

The only solution left for this idea is Bluetooth Beacon. Products like Estimote offers contact tracing, asset tracking, proximity, and indoor location only using Bluetooth technology. But this project requires a larger scale of what they offered, it has to cover every inch of the train and remains undisrupted during rush hours. Well, not that simple anymore.

Endnote

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below or send me a message on Twitter @theglimy . Everything wrote here is my individual opinion, not relating to any company whatsoever.

--

--

Glimy
Open Source Ideations

Designer. On the journey to explore ideas too big for me and improve my English. Views are my own.