Handheld Gaming Windows PC v2

#Ideation 12

Glimy
Open Source Ideations
6 min readOct 22, 2017

--

I have always been a fan of portable handheld gaming devices, from Gameboy, Brick Game, and Digimon to PSP and DS. With those devices, you could play it anywhere from lying on the sofa to whatever you’re doing in the toilet. And yes how can I forget about the mobile phone games, but strangely I’m tired of it, ALL OF THE FREEMIUM GAMES ON THE MOBILE PHONES!

PC Master Race

Ever since I ditched my PlayStation 3 to join the PC Master Race, I have been looking high and low for an actual handheld PC gaming device. In 2011, Razer announced a concept handheld PC device call the Razer Switchblade. I was excited about and what’s even crazier is that they have the dynamic tactile keyboard which the graphic on the keys can change on-the-fly. But what’s missing is the built-in Xbox controller input support, which you’re stuck with keyboard and touchscreen input. Then came 2013, Razer released Razer Edge with the Gamepad attachment and I believe it is still the most powerful handheld gaming PC on the market so far. But one thing I personally dislike is the size of the machine. With the Gamepad attachment, it could roughly go up to 15 inches in width. Then again, it’s a tablet.

3D Render of Smach Z

The Age of Crowdfunding

Back in 2016, Smach Z launched its Kickstarter campaign and of course being an enthusiast I’ve backed it, and they promised to deliver by April 2017. Somewhere close to Nintendo Switch release date. But the company have delayed it for another year due to some hiccups during the development. So I can’t say much about it for now.

GPD Win

Meanwhile, I picked up GPD Win to try out first how does one with a handheld gaming PC works. Surprisingly I’m enjoying it so far. At the time of writing this, I only played it with 2D games like Cat Quest (60fps), Full Throttle Remastered (60fps) and Agarest: Generations of War (strangely it’s 30fps even on my gaming laptop) and they work perfectly great. I know there were a couple of reviewers out there that pushed the limits how this device could go but I wouldn’t want to spoil the gaming experience by lowering it’s graphics just to play on-the-go. Overall, it’s great if you know what you are doing. Steam plays a big part in two features that I wanted to highlight. The ability to play on-the-go and continue where I left off on another machine that sits in my living room with the big TV using Steam cloud save game synchronization. That’s a huge plus point. Secondly, using Steam in-home streaming, so you could run more graphics intensive games on a desktop and stream it to the handheld PC while lying on the sofa or even your bed.

After using GPD Win for awhile, I realized keyboard plays a crucial role in Windows devices because there are moments you wanted to do something, and a Xbox controller can’t fulfill. Not just the GPD Win, also my PC at my home living area, which I usually had a Steam controller plugged in, still requires me to use the keyboard from time to time. So it bothers me a little now with the Smach Z, a Windows/Linux device that has a similar form factor as the Nintendo Switch, just without the detachable controllers. I might have to treat it like a Windows tablet and hoping I will not need to use any physical keyboard when I get my hands on it.

What if…

I dreamt of crazy abomination devices like…

Razer Switchblade’s dynamic tactile keyboard combined with a Xbox controller joysticks and buttons.
A PC hid inside a Xbox One controller that comes with a screen and detachable keyboard (to support various languages easily).
Nvidia Shield Portable, running Windows 10 instead of Android! Might be possible in the future when Windows 10 fully support ARM processor. But I’m not entirely sure if all the games will work, although this video claims that zero changes made to Adobe Photoshop. And bonus feature, a keyboard!

Power to the People

To a certain extent, someone who is an enthusiast like me did his very own handheld gaming PC call Project Scout. You can head over to Chase Cobb’s YouTube channel to check out the full details.

And another homemade Nintendo Switch like housing with Raspberry Pi running RetroPie, call Nintimdo RP by Tim Lindquist.

Version 2

Well, I also designed my ideal handheld gaming PC from scratch, graphically. You might notice the design is somewhat similar to a Nintendo Gameboy, but the inspiration didn’t come from that. In fact, it was mostly from PocketCHIP, the moment when I held on to one, that “Aha!” moment struck me. I told myself, this must be the perfect way to hold a handheld gaming PC (personal opinion). Well, a clamshell design is an excellent way to keep your stuff away and in your back pocket. I find it is a waste of space, it could have more room for your internal components, like a bigger battery.

But… let’s not try to overdo it, yeah?

Remember I said how crucial keyboard it is on Windows device earlier on? I added them to my layout with two factors in mind. Thumb-friendly for typing and using modifier keys. Typing must be as comfortable as like it is with Blackberry devices, it’s easy to type on and effortless to press. Whereas GPD Win’s keys require slightly more strength to press on, and also the layout of the keys on the right might need you to stretch your right thumb to reach the typing area.

The modifier keys, I tried doing Ctrl + Alt + Del to bring up the Windows Security screen on GPD Win, and I ended up doing it awkwardly that my fingers were about to tangle up. PC’s modifier keys not designed for thumbs inputs only. So I did some quick redesign to this keyboard by adding a modifier lock switch. So for example, if I have the modifier lock switch on and to bring up the Window Security screen, all I need to do is just press Ctrl, Alt, and Del in sequence, without holding onto any of the keys. Modifier keys will stay on after a single press until a standard key is pressed. It will then reset all modifier keys.

The End

Ultimately, the target audience of such device is definitely for people who are already onboard of the PC master race and just wanted play some of the games on the road. Not like those higher end games that require more powerful graphics power. Like myself, I would want to play Overwatch on the desktop and play some single player 2D games on the road.

Endnote

As I’m writing this, I saw this video! Photos of GPD Win 2 seems to have leaked, and it appears that they have upgraded keyboard design. Similar to Xbox One detachable keypad. Hopefully, it’s better to type on. They also swapped the joystick and buttons position. And probably, the trigger buttons are better now. Overall, more importantly, an upgraded processor, definitely looking forward to this!

You have come this far, and I thank you for taking the time to read this article on handheld gaming PC. If you have any question in mind, do feel free to drop me a message here or on Twitter @theglimy. Whatever written here is my individual views, not affiliated with any companies.

--

--

Glimy
Open Source Ideations

Designer. On the journey to explore ideas too big for me and improve my English. Views are my own.