Using Xbox One as external “GPU” for your PC

Glimy
Open Source Ideations
2 min readMay 22, 2017

First of all, nope, I have not proven that you can do this. This is just a figment of my imagination and it’s going to be a short one. Looking at Razer Core and other external GPU for laptops (there’s even a cheap alternative), got me thinking. Can I tap onto a console’s “GPU” with my standard laptop?

TV or Monitor!

Ahhh ahh ahh… I know what you’re about to say… Xbox One GPU isn’t that great compared to a GTX 980. So why would I buy a Xbox One? I don’t know? Play Xbox One exclusive games while still able to play PC games using Xbox One?

https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/2086/xbox-one-gpu

And why I pick Xbox One over PS4? It’s the OS. If both are Microsoft Operating System, I guess it won’t be hard to implement?

It would be nice to daydream that one day, the consoles graphics will be comparable with the latest graphic cards. And you are able to do this! For peasants like me. :(

--

--

Glimy
Open Source Ideations

Designer. On the journey to explore ideas too big for me and improve my English. Views are my own.