Team Member Profiles — Tom Conroy, Software Developer

Quill
Open Source Quill
Published in
1 min readAug 15, 2018

Tom is a software developer who joined Quill to help struggling student writers. Before joining our team, he studied at the University of Maryland, College Park and worked for several startups.

Tom Conroy

Why Quill?

I really liked the idea of working for a non-profit. Everyday I come to work feels like I’m using my programming powers for good. I have also had an interest in writing for most of my life despite feeling like I never did it well. I think Ed Tech tools like what Quill provides will be integral to teaching the newest generation of students clear and effective writing.

Favorite Quill tool?

Quill Connect. I like that it provides flexibility and targeted feedback to students trying to learn concise and clear writing through sentence combining. As in real life, there isn’t just one way to express an idea, and Connect doesn’t force students to answer like there is.

Hobbies outside of Quill?

Board games, video games, running, trying new restaurants, and watching way too much TV. I’m always trying to learn something new in tech by going to meet-ups or reading programming books. I just moved to Brooklyn and live with an awesome new dog friend.

--

--

Quill
Open Source Quill

Quill is a free online tool that helps K-12 students become better writers.