A life-changing experience?

Wendy Bates
Open Working & Reuse
2 min readJun 29, 2023

--

Last week I attended a Leadership Retreat, facilitated by The Lasting Difference, at Ardoch House. It really was an amazing experience- I know it’s a bit of a cliche but I actually think it could be life-changing!

I joined with 16 other voluntary sector leaders to reflect on how we can sustain change.

The picture above is of a statue of ‘Jimmy’. Jimmy is looking up- open to learning and new experiences, his feet are big to ensure that he stays grounded and he has long arms to embrace new experiences. Each member of the group embraced the opportunities that Ardoch offered as Jimmy.

Being around others so openly passionate and compassionate, caring and giving of themself, was a hugely powerful experience. There was such power within the group- an openness to learning and sharing experiences; the belief that things can and will be better- and the courage to see our part in making it so.

I was supported to see my own gifts, learning so much without feeling as though the learning was filling some kind of deficit in me- but adding to my strengths and all that I bring.

I was able to be in Ardoch without responsibility but with full knowledge and awareness of who I am and the many roles I play in my life.

The experience was filled with endings and new beginnings as we became clearer about the path forward- sustaining change in the system we work in, in our organisations, and in ourselves.

I was given the gift of clarity- of simplicity within complexity. The gift of new relationships, and of trusting myself and others.

I was also reminded of the privilege of my position.

As the sun sets on the retreat, I need to hang onto the Ardoch magic as I readjust to being back in the workplace- acknowledging that whether it was a life-changing experience or not is down to me!

I have the agency to make it so.

--

--