Codesign, Running Competitions and Notion Databases

Robyn Barclay
Open Working & Reuse
2 min readAug 28, 2024
Photo by Rubaitul Azad on Unsplash

Over the summer, I lost my mojo. It’s a vast oversimplification of a complicated health issue that happened, but it’s true nonetheless. And because I had no mojo, I stopped writing weeknotes.

Working in the open makes things better. But here I am, huddling behind closed doors. No more!

A reminder of who I am and what I do

As communications, content and marketing executive at Third Sector Lab, I do a range of things.

  • I organise, facilitate and promote our three programmes, The Curve, the Open Working Programme and Digital Trustees
  • I work with clients to improve their Google Ad Grants accounts and the SEO on their websites.
  • I work on developing content with website clients.
  • I do marketing and campaigns work with clients

Project updates

Codesign

I’m really excited by the codesign work we’ve been doing with clients to create a website for women experiencing gambling harms in Scotland. It’s felt like such a creative, rewarding and fulfilling project.

We do discovery work with all of our projects, but this one has been far more hands on. I’m really determined to make a website that makes a difference to the women we’ve been speaking to.

Writing competition closing 31st August

This summer, my biggest (and secretly favourite!) project has been running a writing competition with the Scottish Wildlife Trust. I’ve been blown away by the competition entries we’ve received.

The competition closes on the 31st August, so if you’d like to write about Scotland’s wild animals and wild places, check out their website!

The Curve

I only recently took over reporting and organising for the Curve, and have been working out a way to automate our reporting. If I can pull it off, I’m hopeful it can be another way our work is open and transparent.

Instead of having our funders wait for full reports or scheduled updates from us, I’ve designed dashboards which should pull data through from our workshops, letting them know how many of their grantholders attended which sessions.

I did this through linked databases on Notion — I’m no coder, but I’ve been so pleased with the results. The last stumbling block has been finding a way to share only part of the databases without giving them access to our master data base.

If anyone knows any workarounds, I am all ears! Hopefully by next week’s weeknote, I’ll have an answer for us.

--

--

Robyn Barclay
Open Working & Reuse

Finding creative communication and marketing solutions to help make digital a priority in the third sector.