Discovery continuing into the Design Phase

Penelope.
Open Working & Reuse
3 min readJan 30, 2024

The Hypothesis

I’ve had to keep the definition of “hypothesis” in front of me to keep things in perspective. I’ve heard the word before and used it colloquially but I want to be sure that I’m understanding it right.

hypothesis (singular noun) — a supposition or proposed explanation made based on limited evidence as a starting point for further investigation.

I’m relieved to find that it includes a “starting point for further investigation”.

OK! So where do we go from here we have the definition, the formula if you like of the key components of what makes a good hypothesis.

Looking at the evidence from our discovery phase, I’d say that building trust between senior leaders and BME women will be a good start.

Photo by Toru Wa on Unsplash

The Ideas

The idea that is taking root is having a platform that connects senior leaders and BME women to a space where they can demonstrate their skills, ask questions, and learn. I’m not thinking of a one-to-one mentoring which might be useful but more of a broader collective approach so that it doesn’t become reliant on the availability and the desire to engage in the process. So who’s going to bell the cat?

Have you heard that saying before?

There are a bunch of house mice who are tired of their family members being taken out by the new house cat. They have a meeting to discuss and come up with ideas for how they can protect themselves. After much deliberation, they concluded that if the cat had a bell around his neck they would be forewarned and could get out of the way.

But then who would bell the call??

Photo by Raychan on Unsplash

The Investors

Who is going to pitch this idea in a way that we get the buy-in of investors not only financially but in time and energy? This includes the users — BME and Senior Leaders.

User testing I guess will give me the evidence of this one way or the other.

I have to trust that process, making sure I get enough evidence to be able to either pursue this idea or move on to the next with the feedback from our users.

I don’t want to end up being married to the idea and keep changing my user group till I find one that likes my idea!

I am conscious of the fact that I have a vision, an ambitious one and so what do I do with that if there isn’t buy-in?

Any thoughts or suggestions are welcome. Help a sister out!

Photo by Denys Nevozhai on Unsplash

--

--