Google Ads and Data Privacy: A Third Sector Perspective

Robyn Barclay
Open Working & Reuse
3 min readSep 12, 2023
Photo by Rajeshwar Bachu on Unsplash

Data privacy is a sticky issue. Our instinct is to say, no, of course I don’t want these big companies having my data!

It feels capitalist and invasive for some Big Brother figure to watch every digital interaction I have, and then sell me products accordingly. Whenever a website asks me if they can use my data, my gut reaction is always to click “no.”

The Register has just published a report that Google Chrome plans to push ahead with targeted ads based on browser history. This raises the question, how much data is too much data to share?

And what if that data helps services to reach the people who need them? I manage Google Ad Grants accounts for charities, and Google knowing so much about us all is exactly what makes them effective.

Personal data

People have lots of complex reasons for keeping their data private. This can range from personal secrets to national security. The US almost banning TikTok was a fascinating example of this public debate.

On one hand, having another nation know so much about private citizens is scary. On the other, I can’t help but wonder — what’s the real harm? My consumer habits aren’t particularly precious to me.

I’ve read some really scary cases of personal health data being used against individuals, and completely recognise the seriousness of that. After Roe V Wade was overturned in the US, data from period-tracking apps could become a weapon used against people seeking abortions, the Guardian reports.

However, most of the data that we share is not that personal. Google knows that I’m a 22 year old woman living in Scotland, with an interest in social activism and feminism. Based on that, they may well try to sell me some useless ‘Girlboss’ stickers.

Or, they might just point me in the direction of some amazing women’s organisations near me. Like any technology, there is as much capacity for good as for evil.

Advertising in the third sector

As a digital marketer in the charity space, I don’t often think of myself as selling a product. But I use the same techniques that advertisers do, and it really helps charities to make a difference.

Google provides $10,000 in ad credit every month to non-profits all over the world. These search ads work by targeting keywords that people might put into the search engine. For instance, “foodbank near me”, or “volunteering opportunities Glasgow”.

However, we can target even more specific audiences. Someone could search “volunteering opportunities Glasgow”, and Google might know that they live locally and that they’re really passionate about animals. Perhaps searching for “cute dog videos” five times a day gave it away.

If an animal charity was targeting that keyword, it would show as the number one result for that person. In this hypothetical scenario, sharing information with Google helped a Glasgow-based animal charity to find a really dedicated volunteer.

The way that I explain Google Ad Grants to my clients is that we’re going to people’s digital front doors rather than putting up a billboard in the middle of the street. By finding people who are already interested in your cause, your ads are more likely to be effective.

We value your privacy: I accept, or I do not accept

Conclusion: Should I share my data with Google?

Deciding whether or not to share our data is up to the individual. However, working in digital marketing in the charity space has helped me to see the benefits of data sharing.

For me, the benefits outweigh the risks. Maybe I’ll get access to a service that I really need, or find a cool opportunity to work for a cause I care about. Maybe all that happens is I get advertised and buy a really nice pair of jeans.

When Google asks for consent to process my data now, I almost always say yes.

To chat with me about how Google Ad Grants can work for your charity, you can email me at robyn@thirdsectorlab.co.uk. Join in the conversation in the comments below — what do you think about data privacy?

--

--

Robyn Barclay
Open Working & Reuse

Finding creative communication and marketing solutions to help make digital a priority in the third sector.