Looking ahead

Sarah MTM
Open Working & Reuse
3 min readAug 10, 2023
Photo by Benjamin Child on Unsplash

The discussion at the start of today’s session led to me contemplating bringing open working to a wider audience, specifically the team within our charity.

As a communications team of one (shortly to be come 2) I have found it most useful to read others experiences, helps to prevent feeling so isolated. My team are all really supportive but their roles are very different. I feel like I’ve been using this writing session to think so it may read a little like a stream of consciousness.

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

On a practical note, I’m meeting with the CEO for coffee later today. This is to interview her so I can write a blog introducing her to the charity’s supporters and will also be shared on our charity’s social media etc.

But I was planning to have a quick chat with her on other things — in my head I’m thinking of this as throwing some mad ideas to her! In terms of our goals of expanding the walking buddy projects that the charity runs, I think some open working within the team of Project Managers and Officers would be really useful. This would help in setting the blueprint up for new projects.

Photo by Greg Rosenke on Unsplash

Dawn has also added another idea into the mix re social media and AI, following this session I’ll have a read (and possibly add it to the mad ideas)!

https://medium.com/@thecopywritersstudio/have-you-used-ai-to-boost-your-marketing-efforts-yet-c811a6efa1ec

First thoughts are that it might be really helpful particularly as the charity grows, having support for the development of the charity projects longer term would be good infrastructure.

Going back to the spreading the word amongst the team, I have been talking about the course with colleagues and volunteers. There’s definitely some interest in taking part in future courses. I think two people having attended it might really help promote it as practice amongst a bigger team, as well as developing those writing skills that are helpful in so many aspects of our work.

I am wondering whether finding a Project Manger open working blog that discuses their challenges and learning might be a good way to show them the benefit of it? If anyone knows of some good examples please let me know!

The biggest obstacle is going to be that of finding the time, the daily tasks of communicating with the people we support and volunteers and managing the behind the scenes work like quarterly reviews and volunteer recruitment make for very busy work schedules.

On balance though I think the work done in making it easier for new projects would pay off as well as that time for self reflection being useful in its own right.

--

--