The power of (im)perfect

Sarah Clive
Open Working & Reuse
2 min readJan 30, 2023
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

When to hold on to perfect

One of the things about doing the open working and reuse programme is letting go of the idea of perfect. Just do it! Oh, Nike would be so proud.

I cannot tell a lie, this doesn’t sit easily with me. I’m a perpetual over-thinker. I think about each word I use. I delete words that take up space without saying anything. I think about the impact and consequences of my words.

Just doing it is scary. What if I get it wrong? Taking time gives me a chance to:

  • consider my options
  • find the evidence
  • think about the right approach

I’m not going to apologise for that. It’s good to hold yourself and your content to high standards, but sometimes it gets in the way.

When to let go of perfect

Not everything has to be perfect. It’s quite a revelation to be able to let go and publish something that says “this isn’t perfect but it’s where I’m up to.”

The vulnerability of that allows people in to the process. It invites collaboration. It takes away the stress and pressure of getting it right first time.

I’ve spoken before about using open working to build trust. The truth is that trust comes with vulnerability — just ask Brene Brown. When you need to bring people in, open up, have a conversation, get them involved and engaged, it’s an excellent time to be imperfect.

Finding your perfect levels of imperfection

I don’t believe in absolutes when it comes to approaches.

I like context, as it lets you adapt. There will always be pieces of work that will benefit from taking the time to get it right. There will also be pieces of work that will benefit from an open and collaborative approach. I’m sure I’ll benefit from learning to use the right approach for the right situation, and daring to be just a little less perfect.

What about you? Are you ready to be comfortable being uncomfortable?

--

--

Sarah Clive
Open Working & Reuse

Content lead at Barnardo's Innovation Lab. Formerly Senior content designer at the Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities.