Openbook: Rachel Kozemczak

Gabe Wasserman
Opendoor Design
Published in
5 min readOct 5, 2020

--

Rachel is a senior product designer working on tools and processes for our customer operations team and partners.

What is your role at Opendoor?

At Opendoor, internal tools aren’t just internal. They actually shape the customer experience. And our customer operations team builds tools to automate and streamline the complex process of buying and selling homes. In my role, I’m focused on designing tools and processes to help build relationships with customers and make their experience as seamless as possible.

For example, one of the tools I work on is a communication platform that facilitates customer conversations. Operators use the tool to support customers and help them find the right product for their situation.

How did you become a designer?

I started my career as a case manager for adults with developmental disabilities and mental illness. I loved the ability to learn and work with people, but I wasn’t able to be analytical or creative in my day-to-day work.

As a result, I looked into a variety of career options and, ultimately, decided on UX. It’s the perfect mix of psychology, analytical skills, and creative problem-solving. Initially, I wanted to make my ideas real, so I learned to code and started my new career path in technology as a front end developer. I transitioned to work in design later.

You’re also an accomplished musician. How does your background influence the way you design?

There are a lot more similarities between design, psychology, and music than you’d think. The basic idea of borrowing ideas from different references and arranging them into something new is something I do in both music and design. Psychology, design, and music all focus on building empathy and understanding how to connect with and channel the people you’re serving.

There’s an emotional, creative aspect in songwriting that mirrors the artistic side of design. Playing around with different sounds, instruments, and sequences mirrors the technical side.

You’ve designed for both the consumer experience and for the operations team. How do the two compare?

Overall, the same general design principles apply to both the consumer and operations teams but the patterns and user goals are different.

Consumer design is flashy and sexy, but the scope tends to be much smaller and more defined. Typically, there’s a linear, focused flow, where the goal is to keep users engaged. You are constantly focused on ensuring people want to use, come back, and spend more time with the product.

With operational design you’re dealing with power users. The flows need to be ultra-flexible and non-linear because people need to complete tasks in a variety of ways. Visuals shouldn’t distract from the work that needs to happen in the tool. You’re optimizing for speed and accuracy instead of engagement.

Caption: Tooling modules used to facilitate key phone calls with customers.

What’s challenging about your work at Opendoor? What’s rewarding?

At Opendoor, our problems are complex and abstract, making it challenging to separate the consumer product from how things actually get done.

We’re designing tools with users’ needs top of mind, ultimately optimizing for the business. It’s important to look at the whole organization in addition to the individual users.

But, that’s what makes our work exciting and rewarding. We have the chance to shape the business and make a drastic impact with operations. The scope is huge, and you can design entire end-to-end experiences, versus siloed consumer products focused on a specific vertical. Plus, some of the most interesting customer problems and experiences happen offline. And it’s cool to influence service and process design beyond the pixels.

How are you staying sane during these unprecedented times?

Many designers I know have hobbies involving art or pottery, but my main outside-of-work project is my house. A few years ago, we bought a 1914 craftsman home and it’s been a dream to redesign each room.

The ability to influence the idea and the execution is fulfilling. Maybe it’s my midwestern roots, but it’s extremely calming to work with my hands. It’s also given me a new appreciation for the way old houses were constructed and to see how many processes are still done the same way today.

It’s a refreshing break from tech, where we are constantly reinventing the way things work. It’s nice to take a step back and appreciate the things that have stood the test of time because they were built to last.

Photos of backyard renovation project

Caption: A recent home renovation project before and after. From a cluttered driveway to a seating space and rose garden.

What do you miss most about pre-pandemic days?

TRAVEL! I love seeing different cultures around the world and having the opportunity to explore and learn new things. I’m grateful to be in such a beautiful place right now, but I miss the ability to easily hop on a plane to see loved ones or to explore a new part of the world. In the meantime, I’m updating my spreadsheets with all the places I want to travel. High up on the list? Greece and Bali — I want to scuba dive!

Do you have any advice to share with other young women designers?

Don’t be afraid to ask for what you want. I used to think that if you ask for something you will sound presumptuous and needy, but the truth is no one will know what you want unless you make it clear.

Women are taught to remain quiet from a young age and not express their opinions. It can be tough to speak up and feel empowered to ask for things. But if you don’t ask, you will never know the answer. And in my experience, not having an answer is worse than the discomfort you may feel asking the question.

--

--

Gabe Wasserman
Opendoor Design

Product Design Manager at Opendoor, family man and circus freak.