Why GoDaddy’s Hosting Sucks

John McElhenney
OpenSocial
Published in
3 min readJul 20, 2022

--

The biggest hosting company is not good for your business.

I’ve had issues with GoDaddy before. Back in the day, all of my domains were purchased via GD. As soon as Google Domains came online, I moved all of my DNS listings to Google. The cost and support was much better. Even the website (GoDaddy’s website has sucked forever) is quicker and easier.

But there are more issues than a slow website, crappy and expensive hosting, and the big one: limited access to your data and your server’s controls.

Here’s how hosting is supposed to work.

Buy a domain. Purchase a hosting plan. Setup WordPress or another CMS (content management system). Add some words, logos, and pictures and publish. And if all goes as planned, you’ve now got a website.

The next part of the journey gets a bit more complex, and here’s where GoDaddy falls short. Using GoDaddy to run your website and your business is not as easy as Shopify or Wix. GoDaddy would like you to believe their system, their platform, their site builder, is just as good as all the others. NOPE.

Today, I was helping a former client and friend. He has a site that was built by GoDaddy’s design services. Okay. And as I login to his GoDaddy account, I can’t seem to to find where the content exists. It is not listed under My Products…

--

--

John McElhenney
OpenSocial

John McElhenney is an author, life coach, and musician who lives in Austin, Texas. He’s best known for his single dad blog, The Whole Parent. (wholeparent.org)