My Favorite Kitchen Gadgets

Laura Gale
OpenTribe
Published in
4 min readMay 6, 2020

There’s nothing like turning on some music, spreading out some ingredients, and getting creative in the kitchen. It’s fun, it’s artistic, and it’s delicious. I don’t believe cooking should be a chore — it should be fun and relaxing! Here are a few of my favorite kitchen gadgets that take the hard work out of cooking so you can relax and enjoy the process.

Instant Pot

This handy multi-cooker can do it all. I use my Instant Pot all the time to cook rice, dried beans, potatoes, soups/stews, one-pot pasta dishes, and even soy yogurt. I love that I can throw all my ingredients in at once, set the timer, and walk away while the Instant Pot does the rest. This is fantastic for everyone, even college students living in dorms. All you need is a power outlet!

Instant Pot

On sale now for $79 on Amazon!

Vitamix Explorian

This high powered blender will produce the smoothest vegan cheese and the creamiest of ice cream. In seconds, you can get the smooth texture you love in typical dairy products. It’s perfect for soups, smoothies, vegan cheese sauce, non-dairy ice cream, salad dressings, and so much more. If you have limited counter space in your kitchen, you might want to consider the Nutribullet, a smaller blender that will yield similar results.

Vitamix

$269.95 on Amazon

The Amazing 100% Organic Nut Milk Bag

I recently bought this organic nut milk bag from Things & Thoughts and am absolutely in love. Now I don’t have to spend $3 on a carton of oat milk when I can make it for less than $1 at home. You can also make delicious almond or cashew milk. Now I can make milk that is fresh, creamy, and free of harmful ingredients. You can also make delicious iced coffee and fresh juice. This is one of my all time favorite cooking gadgets!

Nut Milk Bag

$13.25 on Amazon

Vidalia Chop Wizard

I use this primarily for chopping onions, my least favorite part of meal prep. This gadget makes chopping veggies so much faster, and you don’t have to worry about teary eyes or cut fingers.

On sale now for $20.95 on Amazon!

Zulay Lemon Lime Squeezer

Because no one likes that awful feeling of citrus seeping into a recent paper cut or hang nail, only to find that you barely managed to squeeze out half the juice. Get the most out of each lemon and lime without making a sticky mess with this lemon lime squeezer.

Lemon Lime Squeezer

$26.19 on Amazon

Chop ‘N Prep Chef Smart Chopper

This little chopper is so handy. Literally! It’s so small you can hold it in one hand. It’s less noisy than a normal food processor and super easy to clean. Just pull the drawstring a few times and you’ve got finely chopped veggies without all the mess!

Smart Chopper (Chop ‘N Prep Chef)

$37.85 on Amazon

Cuisinart Food Processor

Last but not least, this the gadget I use most of all. This blender can chop, slice, shred, mince, and even knead. This gadget does so much more than your average food processor and saves me so much time in the kitchen.

Cuisinart DLC-8SBCY Pro Custom 11-Cup Food Processor, Brushed Chrome

$141.07 on Amazon

These products have truly changed how I think about cooking. Now I can make delicious, high quality meals without breaking my back in the kitchen. Work smarter, not harder.

--

--