Vegan on a Budget

Laura Gale
OpenTribe
Published in
5 min readMay 21, 2020

“I can’t afford to eat healthy.”

“Veganism is too expensive.”

“I can’t workout because I don’t have money for a gym membership.”

Have you heard or made these statements before? A lot of people think being healthy means spending absurd amounts of money every month on organic spiralized zucchini and fancy gym memberships. I’m here to tell you that that is simply not true.

My last two years have looked a little like this: $150 uniform, hundreds of dollars of textbooks, over 600 hours of unpaid clinical rotations, hospital parking fees, graduation fees, and finally…graduation! And before I knew it, I was trading in my cap and gown for a mask and gloves, scouring job sites in the midst of a pandemic.

It’s safe to say I’ve had to do my fair share of budgeting, and I can assure you, it is possible to stay healthy without breaking the bank. If I can do it, you can too.

Here are my top 10 tips for staying healthy on a budget:

  1. Have a plan
    You don’t have to plan out every single meal, but you should take a look in the fridge and pantry and have an idea of what you need before you step into the grocery store. This will keep you from wandering into the baking aisle when really you only need a bag of apples and a bundle of collard greens.
  2. Don’t shop hungry
    I’m guilty of this one. When you’re wandering through the store with a growling stomach, suddenly everything looks appetizing. Appetizing, and oh so accessible. I’ve walked into the grocery store intending to buy a carton of soy milk and walked out with a basket full of bread and hummus and vegan ice cream and kombucha and pasta galore. Don’t do this. Have a snack before your grocery trip and stick to the essentials.
  3. Avoid processed foods
    Veganism can be expensive if you’re loading up on processed foods. A box of vegan burgers can range between $4 and $6. A bag of vegan cheese is around $5. A jar of vegan mayo can cost up to $8. And a pint of vegan ice cream is around $5. This adds up fast. Stick with whole foods as much as you can. You’ll be lighter and your wallet will be heavier.
  4. Don’t buy everything at once (a tip for after the pandemic)
    I find that when I try to buy all my groceries at once, I end up wasting food and losing money. It’s difficult to predict exactly how much I’m going to eat in a week. Sometimes I end up buying more than I need, resulting in slimy spinach and wasted money. To avoid this, I like to make frequent trips to the grocery store and buy a few things at a time. This way, I only buy what I need. Of course, this is a tip to try out after we’ve got COVID-19 under control. For now, continue to limit how often you go out.
  5. Frozen veggies
    Frozen veggies are often cheaper than fresh veggies and contain the same nutrient profile. Plus, you don’t have to worry about them going bad. I love to have a big bag of veggies in my freezer at all times. And if you find yourself unable to follow rule #4 and come home with way more produce than you intended, you can always chop and freeze some of it for later.
  6. Cheap staples
    Stock up on cheap staples. My favorites are oats, rice, potatoes, and beans. These are super cheap, last for weeks or months, and are good sources of fiber and protein. A can of beans at Wal-Mart costs about 50 cents. Throw a can of beans over some cooked brown rice, stir in some frozen spinach, and season with your favorite spices for a delicious, satisfying meal full of fiber and protein…and for less than $3!
  7. Bunches of greens instead of bagged greens
    I love kale. I eat it almost every day, but I don’t always want to spend $4 for a bag of chopped kale that I know I’ll eat in just a few days. To finance my (probably excessive) consumption of kale, I opt for the bunches instead of the bags. Buying the whole bunch is much cheaper, saves on plastic, and it only takes a few minutes to chop it yourself at home.
  8. Plant your own herbs
    Why spend money every week on your favorite herbs when you can grow them at home for free? As long as you have a sunny spot on your porch or windowsill, you’re good to go! Use herbs like basil, rosemary, mint, and cilantro to dress up your salads and stir-fries. They also add some decorative flare to your windowsill or back porch.
  9. Get your spices from the bulk section
    There’s nothing worse than having to buy the whole $4 spice jar when you only need a pinch. Instead, you can go to the bulk section and measure out a teaspoon or two for a fraction of the price. You can even bring your own containers to save on plastic. Spices can get expensive, and if you don’t use them very often, the bulk section is the way to go.
  10. Workout at home or outside
    If you’re really trying to be careful with your money, you might not want to dish out money every month for a gym membership. And that’s totally okay, but it doesn’t mean you can’t work out! Most exercise is free, anyway. Instead of spending time on the elliptical at the gym, you can start jogging or hiking outside. Check out YouTube for some fun at-home workouts. If weight-lifting is your thing, you can buy weights online or in stores and create your own weight-lifting routine at home. Or if you really want to be frugal, you can get cheap workout equipment on craigslist and in thrift stores.

See, being healthy doesn’t need to be expensive. If anything, you might even save money by eating whole foods. And if you’re still not convinced, think of how expensive it is to pay for cardiac medication, insulin, and surgery. Investing a little in your health now will save you thousands of dollars down the road.

Remember, nothing is more valuable than your health.

This is Will!

--

--