Panorama of Thimphu. Photo by Steve Wilson

An Urban Hike Up Thimphu

By Dr. Steve Wilson, guest blogger

UTEP News
Opera Bhutan
Published in
3 min readOct 5, 2013

--

On a cloudy, cool Friday morning with a little time to spare, I decided to explore the area beyond our hotel. My only plan was to take whatever turns in the road would continue to take me ever higher up the side of the mountain.

Starting out from the hotel, it seemed as if the city would quickly fade into forest, which is easily visible all around our hotel. The reality is that Thimphu is spread out pretty wide both across the valley and up the mountain. Each turn in the road revealed more structures and roads with a flurry of people walking to work and school.

Throughout my three-hour hike, I was surprised to see so much diversity in housing, roads, vehicles and people all mixed together. It is not surprising to find large, gated private homes across the street from small, rundown shacks made of metal siding. Next door might be a large (by Bhutan standards) apartment complex, or a small shopping center.

Metal shacks are visible next to larger homes. Photo by Steve Wilson

I was struck early on by a school complex with an elementary, middle and high school. The day was beginning as I passed students spinning a large prayer wheel and scurrying to their classrooms. As I passed by again on my way back, I saw some elderly women selling snacks to the kids through the fence, reminding me how trusting the people here are and how safe the city and country seem to be.

Further up the road, around a few turns I stumbled on a palace, much to my surprise. This was not the main palace of the king, but it was important enough to have an official sign and armed guard out front. The entry had a large gate, with a winding road and trees that blocked the view. Around the corner was a primary school that provided a great view of the top of the palace and a chance to hear some Bhutanese children singing in the background.

A palace peers out from the forest in the mountains of Thimphu. Photo by Steve Wilson

Across from the palace and a little way up the road were some government buildings and several large, gated homes with armed guards out front. I was clearly in an upper socio-economic area, confirmed by the appearance of a large, gated community with many large estates on a ridge overlooking the valley and river below. However, in what I sense to be Bhutanese fashion, directly across the street was a farmer’s humble shack, with corn growing in the front yard.

While Bhutan is still new to me — I am but a beginner in learning her secrets — my journey today helped me see the diversity of her people. A series of quotes were painted on the side of the high school mentioned earlier to inspire the students, and one that caught my eye stated, “Education is Life, not Book.” It was the perfect quote for this hike, this project and our students, who are learning as much from their personal interactions with the Bhutanese as they are preparing the opera.

Sign outside a school in Thimphu. Photo by Steve Wilson

--

--

UTEP News
Opera Bhutan

Follow along as UTEP students, faculty and staff visit the Kingdom of Bhutan for a historic performance of Acis and Galatea.