Among the fallen leaves

Akshara Mehra
Opinioc
Published in
1 min readNov 30, 2021

“But I wait there among the fallen leaves…” A mesmerizing poetic rendition that takes you towards rediscovery.

Photo by olena ivanova on Unsplash

As the blizzards pass by,
The sand dunes shatter
Slowly and gradually,
And then sinking in the reality of life,
Into the very earth they emerged from.

With names written on sand,
I walk away on those familiar paths.
To rediscover everything
Among the fallen leaves.
Like they have always been since eternity.

In stormy mornings and in cold summers
In the search of shells in deep blue waters,
I walk away with the waves crashing around.
A mere reflection of turbulence possessed.

In between Portulaca and Petunia
I wait for fire.
In between Hibiscus and Hollyhocks
I wait for the sunshine.
In between darkness and light
I wait for the phoenix.
In between truth and lie
I wait for the subjectivity.

But I wait there among the fallen leaves
My hands in soil.
Planting seeds of fire
In the castles of sand

To be destroyed surely one day
For igniting the rebellious fire.

--

--

Akshara Mehra
Opinioc
Writer for

An avid reader and a person who believes in power of words. Likes to write poetry . Pursuing Masters in Social Work and vocal about the social issues.