Column | Life Journey

Engineering to Journalism: What Engrossed Me?

I know at least there’s one reader out there who read my articles and got inspired to do something exciting. Words can change the world. It sure did change mine

The Opinioc Team
Opinioc
Published in
7 min readAug 4, 2020

--

By Mohammed Rayaan

Mohammed Rayaan is a 24-year-old independent journalist who documents his journey from an engineer to a scribe in this article. Currently, he writes on human-interest stories, society, culture, and entertainment.

I think I started writing when I was in sixth grade. I remember jotting down stories in the last pages of my school books. It was also the time when I began to read novels. Those days were just amazing. I didn’t have a phone then and my only source of entertainment were books. As my brothers were avid readers, their habits gradually infected me. I read Harry Potter, a ritual I performed every day religiously. My mind buzzed with wizards and Hogwarts. I also read Dan Brown, one of my favorites. I remember reading Enid Blyton’s mystery series. I even read a big deal of romance.

As I read so many books over the years, I eventually started getting story ideas of my own. They were just a rip-off from the chapters of the books I read. I tried combining and envisaged them if I could come up with a plot. They were terrible. I wasn’t writing, I was just scribbling stories. Another thing that stalled me from becoming a better writer was the fear that I wouldn’t succeed. I feared…

--

--

The Opinioc Team
Opinioc

A platform with a multitude of themes for artists, and a one-stop solution catering to the needs of the present generation business.