Poetry

Safoora’s address to Unborn Prisoner

Meadows and mountains; and not to the land in barbed wires

Dawood Syed
Opinioc

--

Denied Justice: Illustration depicting a pregnant student activist who was at the forefront of CAA protests in India. Photo Courtesy: Sankutty on Twitter.

Once again, locked in the dingy cells of Tihar tonight;
Unborn prisoner! Let me whisper the stories of oppression tonight;
Darkness our companion, the spirits never tired;
Come, let’s celebrate the echoes of freedom tonight!

Once again, I guide my steps in the dark alleys of Tihar tonight;
Unborn prisoner! Let me unshackle the chains of repression tonight;
Tied around to choke the voices- of those raised for justice;
Come, let’s rescind the flood-gates of oppression tonight!

Once again, the tumult in my heart rages through the cells of Tihar tonight;
Unborn prisoner! Let me embark on a journey of triumph tonight;
Tell them: we resist, for soon will there be free mornings;
Come, let’s dance in the swirls of freedom tonight!

Once again, I plead my case of resistance in the compounds of Tihar tonight;
Unborn prisoner! Let me take you to the sunflowers and sunshines,
Meadows and mountains; and not to the land in barbed wires;
Come, let’s bury in the graves, the symbols of subjugation tonight!

Once again, the pain of separation escapes the walls of Tihar tonight;
Unborn prisoner! Let me romance with the thoughts of freedom tonight;
The waning moon of this night will be the witness;
Come, let's burn on a pyre, the scripts of oppression tonight!

--

--

Dawood Syed
Opinioc
Writer for

Social Worker, Executive editor #Opinioc. Columns- politics, social issues, satire, poetry and everything unpalatable! @d4dawood (IG)