Reading

SpaghettiBoi
Opinionated Educational Blog
2 min readMar 17, 2017

I think that reading is very important. Reading develops a natural knack for grammar and spelling, as well as expanding your vocabulary. Being fluent in English is very important not only in English class, but in the rest of your life as well. Having good grammar and fluid sentences is essential, since throughout your whole life you will be making speeches and presentations which you will have to write and present in English. I read books whenever i have free time, and whenever i find a good book. The last book that I read was “Redwall” by Brian Jacques. Right now, I am reading “The Blind Assassin”, by Margaret Atwood. It’s interesting, but pretty complicated. In my old school, we all signed up to the Premiers Reading Challenge, which I completed each year. Apart from reading, I also write on Quora. I have 4.7 thousand answer views, which I think is pretty cool.

Here is a poem that I recently read:

I could never have dreamt that there were such goings-on
in the world between the covers of books,
such sandstorms and ice blasts of words,
such staggering peace, such enormous laughter,
such and so many blinding bright lights,
splashing all over the pages
in a million bits and pieces
all of which were words, words, words,
and each of which were alive forever
in its own delight and glory and oddity and light.

I really think that this poem reflects the depth and the immersiveness of books.

If I had to choose 10 books to take on a desert island, this would be my list:

  1. The Wikipedia book: I would use this book to help me live a more comfortable life, and if I got bored I could always just flip to a random page and learn something new.

2. — 9. All of the Harry Potter books: I love Harry Potter, and I could re-read these books forever!

10. The Ashley Book of Knots: This would have plenty of knots for me to master, which will help me live comfortably.

--

--