How to find photo ops

Terry Poe
Domain Market Research
2 min readJun 14, 2018

I shoot events, not weddings, not birthdays and not bar mitzvahs, but professional events — conferences, trade shows, exhibitions. How do I find photo gigs?

How to find photo ops

Planning
I scan daily event calendars and mark prospective conventions.

List of event calendars

These publications are also my customers, ocassionally I double as a reporter and supply event coverage, photos, reportages and interviews.

Looking for customers
I contact event organizers and offer my services. I register for events as a media representative. I also contact media outlets that might be potentially interested in getting coverage of the target event. Market research and market analysis companies are among my customers, images from tech trade shows and conferences add value and authenticity to their reports and are always in demand.

Coverage
Besides working on specific assignments I explore the target event on my own, following my interests, instincts, and interesting angles. I shoot extensively for my own digital archive with perspective to sell images on my own.

Workflow
I sort and postprocess images in the Lightroom (I prefer CC version to desktop for simplicity, speed, universality of access).

Delivery
I deliver files and prints (if necessary) to the customers, usually it’s a long interactive process.

Post-Event Marketing
I post images online in digital archive for sale as event posters.

Source: How to find photo ops

--

--