How to disable packagekit

George Shuklin
OpsOps
Published in
1 min readAug 26, 2019

I’m not a big fan of desktop managing my software. So, packagekit sounds like an external dependency with annoying behaviour.

Unfortunately, it’s hardly backed into distro and removal of packagekit package would break many things (including default ubuntu-desktop-minial).

So, how to dampen it?

  1. Disable the service.
sudo systemctl stop packagekit
sudo systemctl mask packagekit

2. Disable apt integration

It should fix this error: Error: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.systemd1.UnitMasked: Unit packagekit.service is masked.

dpkg-divert --divert /etc/PackageKit/20packagekit.distrib --rename  /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/20packagekit

(this is the best way to say dpkg than you don’t want to see this file under original place).

That’s all. It sad that I need to fight the distro authors…

--

--

George Shuklin
OpsOps

I work at Servers.com, most of my stories are about Ansible, Ceph, Python, Openstack and Linux. My hobby is Rust.