ip_link_set module for Ansible

George Shuklin
OpsOps
Published in
1 min readDec 29, 2019

I’ve just send a pull request to Ansible to add ip_link_set module. I wrote it in a few few-hours sessions (about 20 hours). It was very educational, as I not only learned a lot about Ansible modules, but I also learned surprisingly many things about interfaces for Linux.

If everything went well, you can see it in Ansible 2.10 or Ansible 2.11. Theoretically, you can use it right now by placing ip_link_set.py file into ./libraries in your playbook directory.

Link to PR: https://github.com/ansible/ansible/pull/66108/files

UPD: I stuck at small issues with that PR. If someone is familiar with Ansible development, I need your help.

Upd2: I fixed all bugs and inconveniences CI had had, now I anticipate a code review and a merge. I’m aiming to get into Ansible 2.10.

Meanwhile I start to think about how to design ip link add/delete. My main concern is how to name module and it’s parameters.

--

--

George Shuklin
OpsOps

I work at Servers.com, most of my stories are about Ansible, Ceph, Python, Openstack and Linux. My hobby is Rust.