no data in retention policy in Kapacitor

Mild WTF which had cost me 1 hour of my life

George Shuklin
OpsOps
1 min readFeb 4, 2019

--

If you suspect that your task does not receive data, check Kapacitor configuration file.

Regardless of how your task was defined, it can not add additional retention policies to Kapacitor to listen to. (neither in command line with -dbrp, nor in task itself). You need to add those in [influxdb.subscriptions] section of kapacitor.conf. It’s trivial to do when you know about this, but it’s hell to debug if you don’t.

You can query random stuff with ‘batch’, but you can’t add dbrp streams. Task with non-assigned dbrp’s will be silently accepted and will receive precisely zero events until someone adds them to Kapacitor config.

--

--

George Shuklin
OpsOps

I work at Servers.com, most of my stories are about Ansible, Ceph, Python, Openstack and Linux. My hobby is Rust.