Overclocking monitor in Linux

I made 60 Hz monitor to run at 80 Hz at max resolution

George Shuklin
OpsOps
2 min readDec 9, 2021

--

Having Linux on desktop is a mixed bless. Yes, there are occasional moments when I need all my admin skills to fix Bluetooth. But there are moments when I do something which is not available on ‘common’ desktops (like macs and windows). One of them is ability to take more from hardware than was promised by vendor.

I have a monitor at my work, Dell UltraSharp U3415W. It’s mildly curved ‘long’ monitor with resolution of 3440x1440, 60Hz. Pixel density is around 95, so it’s not from ‘4k league’.

Anyway, it was sold as ’60 hertz’ monitor, and it’s working at 60 FPS, as most of the office stuff do.

But, with a little help of xrandr I was able to run it at 80 Hz. Which is not fancy-shmancy 120 Hz, but, nevertheless, +33% for free!

Commands for my monitor are:

But! It’s not a dark magic, it’s a dark magic with a nice calculator on top!

https://tomverbeure.github.io/video_timings_calculator

The key difference is in CVT-RBv2 Modeline, which reduces blank space and allowing to have higher payload within same frequency.

Result

+ 20Hz for using Linux on desktop

--

--

George Shuklin
OpsOps

I work at Servers.com, most of my stories are about Ansible, Ceph, Python, Openstack and Linux. My hobby is Rust.