Peculiar handlers

Ansible bingo got replenishment

George Shuklin
OpsOps
1 min readJul 27, 2022

--

If you don’t know, I have a project called ‘ansible bingo’ [1]. It’s a small collection of the most hilarious not-a-bugs-or-bugs in Ansible, mostly around the way Jinja expressions are handled.

Yesterday I made another addition there: circular handlers. I can’t explain the result and it’s jaw-dropping. To the respect, one of my colleagues was able to predict result (without running the code) after 5th guess (but not the actual number).

The code:

Do not run it. Think!

And compare your reasoning with real output. Be baffled.

[1] Ansible-bingo is poorly maintained and usually is referred in a middle of discussions or when new ‘bingo’ discovered (like this one). The link:

--

--

George Shuklin
OpsOps

I work at Servers.com, most of my stories are about Ansible, Ceph, Python, Openstack and Linux. My hobby is Rust.