What does the Head of Operations actually do at Sanctus?

I probably have the most subjective job title here at Sanctus. I’m here to shed some light on what Head of Ops looks like for us.

Victoria Lloyd
Ops Stories
7 min readSep 3, 2018

--

I might get a bit hippie on you lot here, but I believe the things that are meant for you have a way of finding you.

I stumbled across Sanctus by sheer accident. I was looking at a Community Manager role at a tech start up (feeling this was a good fit for my background in B2B tech events) when I saw ‘Sanctus Mental Health Coaching’ listed as a benefit.

I’m not messing about when I say clicking on the Sanctus website and learning about what they did sent a jolt of electricity through my body.

My mental health journey had been at it’s most difficult from 2015–2017. There was something about seeing a business be so open about addressing the challenges of mental health that spoke to me on a deep level. I felt like I’d found the exact thing I’d needed when I was at my lowest. The thought of using my professional skills to bring that much needed space and transformation to people meant was enough to make me think “Fuck it. I’m writing them an email”

With no jobs advertised, I thought I’d take a chance. I cobbled together a completely rushed email. I told James a bit about my story, attached my CV and told him straight up that I wasn’t just passionate about Sanctus but specifically how I could help.

Employee number 1

A few weeks later, I came in for, what we now affectionately call, an ‘8am-er’. 8am meetings for non business critical stuff but for folks the team are interested in meeting before most people have locked their front door behind them. It was the start of a conversation with J&G that hasn’t stopped since.

After that initial meeting, I felt so in sync with the guys and the mission of Sanctus. I talked about writing some blogs until the time was right to hire and the guys explained they would keep in touch when the business was in a place to bring someone on. The turnaround was quicker than I expected and before I knew it I was back at Sanctus HQ for a chat about what a role might look like.

Already Sanctus had begun to split into two ‘halves’. Jamo on Creative and GB on Business. The business side of things was thriving. So much so, that GB felt he couldn’t adequately do the job of founder and be a manager of the day to day operations of Sanctus.

George quizzed me about previous role”Had I managed schedules before?” “How did I deal with unexpected events?” “What did I see my strengths as?” “Had I managed accounts before?” these questions ended up shaping the initial scope of what my role at Sanctus looked like, but as any Ops person knows, this job can shift constantly depending on the needs of the business.

Fast forward and I’m having references checked, signing my contract and going for dinner with the lads at La Farola (to check we can actually get through a few hours together without boring one another to tears — essential for a team of 3). Before I knew it, I was employee number 1 at Sanctus.

The Shaper

Initially the scope of my role was simple. I took over the day-to-day operations of Sanctus from George. I made sure the coaches were where they needed to be, reminded our partners that Sanctus was coming in and learned a new way to build relationships in business. Our partners are just that, partners. They’re not customers we’re trying to upsell but individuals passionate about looking after the mental health of their employees and as I quickly learned, people I genuinely liked and felt inspired by.

But I struggled in my first few months at Sanctus knowing where I sat.Being employee number 1, I was actively involved in creative strategy conversations about where Sanctus was going as a business, from building the Mental Health Pledge to working with George on securing new business to giving input on the content we made and creating sustainability in what we did. But I wasn’t a founder. My responsibilities also extended beyond that of a team player. So in true Sanctus fashion, I bought it up with our internal coach, Felicity.

I used one of our sessions to discuss how I felt like I didn’t really know my place.

Look I’m a 25 millennial woman interested in business. Obviously I’ve read the Sheryl Sandberg book. I’m trying to lean in. But bloody hell, I’ve only been here 5 minutes! Am I taking the piss? Am I being too meek? Obviously there are boundaries to my role but where are they?

Felicity said something to the effect of this

“As employee number 1, you’re in an interesting position. You’re the first for everything. First salary negotiations, first appraisal, first person to ask for and do everything that will happen in life working here. You’re the first person to step into a business which has been up until now run by 2 best friends who know each other inside and out. Of course it’s awkward and clunky, you’re all doing everything for the first time. Your role is the shaper”

‘The Shaper’ has been my compass for how my role has developed ever since.

Not to sound like a Disney song, but I am in charge of my destiny here at Sanctus. It’s down to me to decide what my role becomes and to use the skills that brought me here to see where I am best placed to keep the operations of Sanctus running as smoothly as possible.

‘The Shaper’ in Practice

Sometimes I come into work and it feels like this.

Operations at Sanctus has meant fighting fires. Whether it’s piecing together why our booking system is breaking down or dealing promptly (and honestly) with the fact an unexpected event has meant a coach can’t turn up to a business. It’s about having the helicopter view of how we are running and using preventative measures to avoid things breaking. I’m the part of the business that executes the day to day functions that allows us to make a profit and ensure people get their time with a coach. The 45 minutes out of their day solely for them to unload and be their authentic self.

It’s about getting a bit of dirt under my shellac manicure to make things work. I keep watching, sensing areas that need attention and not waiting to be asked to do things. I’m high energy and a do’er by nature. This job soaks up those qualities and channels them into a much greater mission of changing the perception of mental health.

The shaper not only applies to the scope of my own job but to the example I set for the rest of the team. I’m the first for everything so it’s up to me to help shape the kind of company that’s a good place to work and in a way, keep everyone accountable to our mission and values internally.

As our team grows, my role steps out of the trenches and into the bigger picture. As my job becomes more about larger scale problem solving, I’m making time for a creative part of my role. More podcasting, more writing, getting involved with our content. Some might say this is taking my eye off the ball, but too much energy on problem solving alone is draining. We’re all at our best when we have balance and making creative output a part of my role means my creative muscles are flexed and can be applied to our operational problems.

Bringing my full self to work — turns out it comes in handy

I’ve been called ‘gobby’ and ‘fiery’ many a time. I won’t go into a diatribe about how these are really terms of microagression for a woman who gets things done and is direct and honest in the workplace, but here those traits are what’s helping to keep us tick.

My only driving force is that people who want Sanctus get to spend their time with a coach. I care so deeply about the work I do because I know what medicine can be in those powerful conversations and I believe everyone should have access to them.

The short answer to what I do as Head of Ops? I’m Sanctus’ Swiss Army Knife

I don’t know exactly what an average day in my role could look like in 6 months time or what part of the Swiss Army Knife I’ll use on that day.

What I do know? I’ll keep fixing what’s broken and staying gobby.

--

--

Victoria Lloyd
Ops Stories

Head of Operations at Sanctus ✨| Writing on all things mental health and relationships 💙| High Priestess of Dagenham 🔮