Bypass Amazon Prime Add-on Restrictions

Jeff Peters
optimalist
Published in
2 min readApr 15, 2018

How to get around the cart minimum when ordering an add-on item.

Sometimes you want to buy an add-on item from Amazon but don’t want to fill your cart with other items to hit the $25 threshold for free shipping.

Like when I wanted to buy a $2 headphone splitter.

Why can’t I just order this with my Prime membership?

All you need to bypass the add-on item order minimum is an Amazon Alexa device.

Enable ordering in your Alexa app and you’re good to go. Just ask Alexa to order the add-on item and your order will be placed without restriction.

My most recent order that bypassed the add-on minimum.

I use my Alexa wand exclusively to order add-on items. Often Amazon will run a promo on Alexa wands where they are effectively free (purchase for $20 and get a $20 credit).

Don’t have an Alexa product? Here’s another way:

Order your add-on item with a pre-order item. The add-on item will ship normally and you can cancel your preorder at any time.

--

--