The best way to buy a drone — 20% off, return policy and purchase protection

Jeff Peters
optimalist
Published in
2 min readAug 1, 2018

--

How I purchased a new Mavic Air for $639 with free returns

I have been eying the Mavic Air since it was announced earlier this year but the $800 price tag was still outside of what I was willing to spend. I’ve been looking for deals and 20% off is the best I’ve found.

Bed Bath and Beyond stocks the white Mavic Air drone and if you register with new email address, you get a 20% off coupon with seemingly no restrictions. I can’t imagine this deal will last long so it’s probably best to take advantage of this while you can. Email signup is available in the footer.

Direct link to Mavic Air on BBB

Other concerns:

Return Policy
Though I think drones are cool and the footage I see online is amazing, I’d always rather try something before committing to keeping it. A reasonable return policy goes a long way towards easing that concern. Many large retailers: Amazon, Best Buy, New Egg, Walmart, etc. have specifically excluded drones from their return policies or will charge a high percentage restocking fee if you return the item. Bed Bath and Beyond does not specifically exclude drones in their generous return policy, making them the ideal place to purchase a drone.

UPDATE: After a mild accident with the drone, I decided to return it and BBB took it back with no questions asked. Truly amazing return policy.

Purchase Protection
Most premium credit cards used to offer some form of purchase protection but have systematically removed this feature over the last year (Chase, Discover, Citi). Even when purchase protection is still available, drones are often specifically excluded. American Express still offers purchase protection and extended warranty but it’s unclear if your claim will be accepted for a drone. At this time I think it’s better to go with Amex and hope for the best than know for certain your claim will be denied.

--

--