Beautiful Views Despite Your Fears

How to go past your limitations and enjoy life

Trista Signe Ainsworth
Optimism and Light

--

My husband Paul and I enjoy the views from the top of the Sacre Coeur Cathedral in Paris, France.

“That’s the thing with fear — conquer it, and you find freedom.”
Rebekah Crane, The Upside of Falling Down

Even the thought of being up high makes my feet feel uneasy, and a great wave of anxiety sweeps over me. I cannot explain where it comes from.

Despite all of this, I made a choice. While traveling, I will always endure heights to experience beautiful vistas and breathtaking scenery.

An amazing view from the Eiffel Tower in Paris, France in June 2023.

While in Paris, I pushed myself to the outer limits bearing my deep fear of heights. On the glass elevator ride up to the top of the Eiffel Tower, my mantra was: “It’s okay, sweetheart.” I kept repeating it on a loop until we reached the top.

As I scanned the vastness of this historic and beautiful city, I sighed with relief. Not letting my fears rob me of this experience was worth the momentary anguish I felt during our ascent.

--

--

Trista Signe Ainsworth
Optimism and Light

I write stories of love and encouragement from my heart to yours.