One Simple Tip to Dramatically Improve Your Copywriting

Aditya Mishra
Optimized Copywriting
2 min readJan 5, 2019

You’re trying to get more clicks but you can’t. Or, people aren’t reading your content. I’m here to help.

Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

And no, I’m not a course-seller or a digital marketing expert. I’m a simple SEO copywriter who likes to write. Like you, I’ve also struggled with the same problem.

Convincing people and persuading them to do something you want is tricky. Due to the notorious elements on the web (thanks hackers), people are skeptical about using something new.

They don’t trust you easily. And that’s what you’ve got to build. Building trust online is difficult but when built, it can give you magnificent results.

It’s like making new friends. At first, you don’t know each other well, but after some time, you become besties.

So what’s the tip?

I’m sharing a secret, just you know. But I won’t take more time now, here it is:

‘Simplify’

Yes, simplify your writing. Break down your sentences. Use easy words. Have smaller paragraphs.

No matter how complex your subject matter is, your content should be understandable.

Online, people are in a hurry. They don’t have the time to listen to hour-long podcast audio or a whole album of The Weeknd.

When your writing is too complex, it takes time for readers to understand it. It takes an effort to understand complex things.

And you want to keep things effortless for your audience.

What happens when you follow this tip?

Let me tell you what happened to my writing when I started following this tip. Here’s an excerpt from my previous writing:

“For those who choose to freelance as their profession, life is not simple. It is full of doubts, inconsistencies, problems and uncertainty. You never know when you will get a suitable job. Similarly, you never know whether you will be able to win that perfect bid or not”

Not much has changed since that time. The words are kind of simple but you can notice the difference now.

My sentences are shorter, words easier and message clearer. That passage is also from a blog post.

No matter how complex your subject matter is, your content should be understandable. Of course, the simplification depends a lot on the kind of content you’re writing.

If you’re writing for academics, like a research paper, then you won’t want to keep such a simple language. (Do research papers need copywriting? Comment your opinion)

Simplifying your writing is a skill. I’m still learning it.

Overall,

I’ve been seeing a lot of improvement in my writing by following this trick. So I thought I should definitely share this tricks with my fellow copywriters.

Let me know your experience with simplifying your writing. Do you like it?

Don’t forget to ‘clap’ if you find this article useful. It’ll help others find this article easily.

--

--

Aditya Mishra
Optimized Copywriting

I’m a freelance content writer. I help websites create engaging, attractive and compelling content. For any enquiries mail me at 4dity4.mishra@gmail.com