I Spent One Year Optimising My Health. This Is How.

Introducing A Protocol for Optimum Health.

Hakim Mamoni
Optimizing Health
13 min readDec 14, 2018

--

Photo by Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash

After reading my previous post, a friend asked me if I wished to live forever. After all, if taking C60 for just seven months was sufficient to nearly double the lifespan of lab rats, what could years and decades do for humans? Immortality perhaps? Somehow, I doubt it; but I don’t doubt that it will be possible for humans to reach 200 years old in the not-too-distant future. Off course, personally, I wouldn’t mind living past a hundred years old… but only as long as I can remain healthy until the end. Like the super-agers capable of maintaining strong cognitive and physical abilities. Nowadays, too many people suffer from a myriad of major health issues like cancer, diabetes, arthritis, hypertension and other chronic diseases. And some of these conditions bring on excruciating pain that would make most people quickly miserable. Imagine an eternity of pain(-killers)? No thanks, not for me.

TL;DR; After a year combining daily exercise, C60, H2, cold showers, ketosis, fasting and supplements, I feel and look leaner and stronger; I have more energy and stamina; my will power, confidence and libido got boosted; I feel calmer & happier :)

Optimum Health

So, while I am not looking to live forever, I have been researching and (self-) testing a protocol for optimum health. What’s optimum health you may ask? For me, it means enjoying an immune system always capable of handling whatever life throws my way. It means rarely seeing the doctor and being filled with energy, strength and mental clarity. Importantly, it also means ageing without suffering any chronic condition or degenerative disease (like Parkinson’s, and Alzheimer’s).

Because oxidative stress has been linked to many age related diseases such as diabetes, atherosclerosis, inflammatory conditions, high blood pressure, heart disease, cancer, and neurodegenerative diseases, I have been focusing on combining complementary techniques that minimise oxidative stress by reducing free radicals and/or by increasing antioxidants. And while some of these techniques, like fasting, are ancient, others, like C60, are relatively new and still experimental.

Before I proceed, please note that none of the following is meant to be taken as medical advice. These are merely the chronological accounts of how I have been optimising my own health, as well as the observed benefits and challenges. If you have a health condition, or are pregnant or breastfeeding, and would like to try part or all of the protocol below, please first seek advice from your doctor.

Daily Exercise

Photo by Alexander Redl on Unsplash

What is it?

I’m sure that everyone knows what exercising is and is aware of how beneficial it is. As early as ~450 BC, Hippocrates stated that the body falls sick when exercise is deficient. The World Health Organisation listed physical inactivity as one of the most important risk factors threatening global health.

Why do it?

Regular exercise can help enhance brain health; increase heart health; limit diabetes and metabolic syndrome; reduce stress, anxiety & depression; improve sleep quality; increase lifespan; prevent brain degeneration; increase bone health; increase metabolism and fat loss; increase muscular strength; reduce back pain; increase growth hormone and testosterone; help with arthritis. And if that was not enough it can increase libido and sexual energy and may even prevent and treat cancer.

What I‘ve been doing

In the spring of 2017, I began, once more, exercising regularly (after a couple of years away from the gym). I started with 3 to 5 days per week and in January 2018, I increased to 5 to 7 days. Nowadays, my training plan consist of:

  • Everyday: 10 minutes of Qi Gong
  • Monday — Friday: 20–30 minutes of cardio (including HIIT 3x per week)
  • Monday — Saturday: 20–40 minutes of resistance training

Most days, I train for just over one hour.

Challenges

Finding time is, for many, the most challenging part but the benefits are so great that it is worth setting aside one hour a day. On some days, if I really can’t fit a whole hour, I try to do at least 10 mins of Qi Gong. And even though HIIT becomes more challenging during fasting, I have setup my fasting cycle (more on this below) to free up my lunch break so I can focus on training.

Observable Benefits

In chronological order, exercising has brought me the following: my lower backache vanished; my energy levels and stamina increased; body fat melted; I became stronger and more flexible; My confidence, will power, and libido got a nice boost! All of these combined with plenty of endorphins, serotonin, and dopamine (released while exercising) have made me happier!

Carbon 60 (C60)

C60

What is it?

C60 is a macromolecule made up of 60 atoms of carbon. It uses hydrogen found in the body to neutralise free radicals and protect mitochondria, cells and signalling proteins from oxidative stress. If you would like to understand how this works in more details, I encourage you to read my previous post ‘C60, Zombie Cells & Reverse Ageing’.

Why do it?

Once ingested, C60 does its wonders for about 10 days before leaving the body. It can help protect from UV-induced skin damage (topical application); it acts as a powerful antioxidant. Its ability to scavenge free radicals is responsible for its anti-inflammatory, anti-apoptotic, radio-protective, and neuro-protective qualities. Prolonged ingestion has helped nearly double the lifespan of lab rats.

What I’ve been doing

I have been taking a teaspoon of C60 in the morning every day for now close to 12 months. I purchased my first bottle in late 2017 from C60 Purple Power and started with their avocado oil blend. Since then, I have also tried C60 in olive oil and, while it also works great, I prefer the taste of avocado oil (one of the most easily digested oil).

Challenges

The two main challenges with C60 are (1) it is only experimental and (2) there are only a few suppliers worldwide (quality C60 blends are not inexpensive). Understandably, the fact that it has not yet been officially approved for human consumption may be of concern to many. Most of the scientific research has only been done on lab rats so far. C60 should only be taken by adults who are comfortable doing so and is not recommended when pregnant or breastfeeding (to be on the safe side). People who take blood thinning medications should make sure to regularly consult their doctors while taking C60 to review the dosage of their prescription. After reading this, you may wonder why I am not concerned about experimenting with C60? It’s simply because the toxicity study meant to determine its lethal dosage ended up extending the lifespan of the lab rats by 90%!

Observable Benefits

People who usually enjoy the benefits of C60 the quickest are the elderly and those who suffer afflictions. When I started taking it at the age of 46, I was in good health and was not expecting too much at first. Yet after only a few days, I noticed an increase in my energy levels and metal focus. Within three months, I noticed an improvement in my eyesight (it had been slowly degrading over the last 2 years). After about 6 months, I noticed the greying of my hair had stopped and now seems to be reversing.

Hydrogen (H2)

Photo by Ricardo Gomez Angel on Unsplash

What is it?

H2 is the smallest known gas molecule. Because of this unique property, molecular hydrogen can penetrate every organ and every cell in the body (including the brain). H2 is the most abundant molecule in the Universe and yet its health benefits were not widely researched before 2007.

Why do it?

It was in 2007 that a team in Japan discovered that inhaled hydrogen gas could act as an antioxidant and protect the brain from free radicals. This discovery sparked worldwide interest in its potential health benefits. H2 reduces oxidative stress; it functions as an anti-inflammatory; and it stimulates energy metabolism. Today H2 has promising potential for clinical use against many diseases.

Source: Molecular hydrogen as a preventive and therapeutic medical gas

What I’ve been doing

Around the same time I began taking C60, I decided to increase my intake / production of hydrogen. The idea being the more H2 is available inside the body, the more free radicals can be neutralised by C60. Fortunately, our body naturally produces a few litres of hydrogen everyday when processing plant fibre, especially that of apples. All I had to do was listen to the old proverb and eat an apple a day. And so I did. Three months later in March 2018, I also purchased a hydrogen water bottle and I have been drinking H2 water almost daily.

Challenges

The main challenge with H2 is that being so tiny, it can escape everything fast. It leaves our body within about 10 minutes. So when you make H2 water, it’s best to gulp it down quickly as it will eventually escape out of the bottle it was made in. And the challenge with eating apples comes about when you switch to a strict Ketogenic diet (where most fruits become off limits) or when you start fasting.

Observable Benefits

As far as benefits are concerned, because H2 works hand in hand with C60 to lower oxidative stress, it is only fair to say that it has brought me at least the same benefits as C60: enhanced energy, mental clarity, improved eyesight, reverse greying.

Cold Showers

Photo by asoggetti on Unsplash

What is it?

Since time immemorial, hydrotherapy has been used by mankind to treat many ailments. The most ancient medical text, the Edwin Smith Papyrus (3500 BC), repeatedly mentioned cold therapy. And while the thought of taking cold showers is daunting to most (past-self included), the few minutes of discomfort, the shivering and the goosebumps, are well worth it.

Why do it?

Cold showers and cryotherapy can help increase metabolism; burn fat; fight inflammation; increase lifespan; strengthen the vagus nervous system; heal injuries and speed recovery; regulate blood sugar levels; improve sleep quality; enhance detox pathways; increase will power (anecdotal and not yet backed by research).

What I‘ve been doing

I started taking cold showers on January 1st 2018 as a new year resolution. I’ve never been someone seeking the cold. Not in my DNA (I thought). I much prefer living in places under the sun than near the ice. I use to view cold showers as a form of masochism until a good friend told me how it had helped her on many levels. After hearing about its benefits from several others, I eventually decided to try. After nearly one full year, I now take up to 3 cold showers a day. I start with a warm water and soap, then switch to the coldest temperature to rinse for about 60 seconds.

Challenges

Some people prefer taking cold showers. After one year, I won’t pretend that I do or that I even enjoy the sensation of freezing cold water early in the morning (especially in winter). But I am now a huge fan of the benefits so I won’t stop.

Observable Benefits

Even though it is anecdotal and has not been scientifically researched, as far as I am concerned, the most powerful benefit is related to will power. Having to step outside of your comfort zone and stay under the freezing cold water every morning requires will power. And here is the trick: will power is like a muscle, the more you use it, the stronger it grows.

Other immediate benefits include the feelings of (1) exhilaration (once the shower is over) followed by (2) calm and serenity. Once you can face freezing showers, when challenges arise during the day, difficult becomes relative and life becomes less stressful.

Ketogenic Diet

Photo by Charles Deluvio 🇵🇭🇨🇦 on Unsplash

What is it?

The classic Ketogenic diet was originally designed in the 1920s for patients with epilepsy by researchers working at Johns Hopkins Medical Center. Today this very low-carb, high-fat diet plan is widely used around the world as an efficient way to burn excess fat and loose weight. At the core of the classic Keto diet is severely restricting intake of all or most foods with sugar and starch. When glucose levels are cut off due to low-carb intake, the body switches to burning fat instead and produces ketones that can be measured in the blood. Once ketone levels rise to a certain point, the body enters a state know as ketosis.

Why do it?

Ketosis cannot only help people loose weight, it can also help reduce the risk for Type 2 diabetes, reduce the risks of heart disease, protect against cancer, fight brain disease & neurological disorders. More recent studies have also shown that ketosis decreases oxidative stress and improves mitochondrial functions.

What I’ve been doing

Around six months ago, in June 2018, I began following the Keto diet and have been ever since. At first, I started with a strict Keto without any sugar (not even from fruits). A couple of months later, in August 2018, I switched over to targeted Keto and reintroduced apples before cardio to boost my H2 production and provide me with extra energy for high intensity interval training (HIIT). As far as ingredients are concerned, I make sure that I eat organic food rich in antioxidants and/or prebiotics (Kale, Asparagus, Brussels Sprouts, Broccoli, Red Cabbage, Blueberries, Raspberries…).

Challenges

My biggest challenge with the Keto diet was initially giving up fruits (especially in the middle of summer). Since I wasn’t eating that much carbs or sugar at the time, I didn’t suffer the dreaded Keto flu. But as I enjoyed eating fruits everyday, at first, giving them up wasn’t easy. Luckily after a couple of weeks, it stopped bothering me. Also eating out can become difficult but not impossible and if you are the only person following this diet at home, it could mean twice the cooking.

Observable Benefits

Switching to ketosis has brought me many benefits. I fairly quickly and consistently lost body fat until I reached a healthy weight. Since then, my weight has been impressively stable (cutting off carbs has massively reduced the yoyo effect). Within the first few days I also noticed my mental focus and energy levels, which had already been boosted by C60 & H2, both got yet another boost. The best part about my energy levels nowadays is that I no longer suffer (carb-induced) crashes in the afternoon. After a month or so, I also noticed that I didn’t need to eat as much as before and that hunger did not bother nor control me. This new relationship with hunger made it so much easier for me to try intermittent fasting.

Intermittent Fasting (I.F.)

Photo by Indian Yogi (Yogi Madhav) on Unsplash

What is it?

Intermittent Fasting is an eating pattern where you cycle between periods of eating and fasting. Some people fast for one or two days at a time, while others (like myself) fast for 18 hours every day.

Why do it?

I.F. can boost brain health and lower risks for neurodegenerative diseases; protect neurones and promote neuronal autophagy: improve memory; ease depression; lower cholesterol; slow down cancer; keep cells resilient; and enhance the body’s resistance to oxidative stress.

Additionally around 12–16 hours into a fast, a process known as autophagy begins during which the body cleans out damaged cells and toxins and helps regenerate newer, healthier cells. Autophagy is so beneficial that it’s being called a “key in preventing diseases such as cancer, cardiomyopathy, neurodegeneration, diabetes, liver disease, autoimmune diseases and infections.”

What I’ve been doing

I started intermittent fasting in September 2018, three months after switching to Ketosis. I follow the 18/6 method (fast over 18 hours / eat over 6). I usually start the day with C60, Vitamin C (liposomal) and a bulletproof coffee (coffee blended with butter and coconut oil) and wait until 16:00 to have my first meal. I stop eating around 22:00. These hours are what works for me at the moment but others prefer eating between 08:00 and 14:00. When you choose to eat does not matter. The most important part is to fast for around 18 hours.

Challenges

For many, one of the biggest challenge with I.F. is no longer being able to share both lunch and dinner with family, friends or colleagues. And while it’s possible to exercise and do cardio, a session of HIIT is always easier when not fasting. Also women, being often more sensitive to signs of starvation or calorie restriction, need to be more careful as intermittent fasting, if done improperly, can cause hormone imbalances. The easiest way to avoid issues, is to consume a fat-only breakfast. As long as you keep carbs and protein out, you remain in a fasting state. That’s why I can have a coffee with butter and coconut oil in the morning and still benefit from autophagy.

Observable Benefits

The most obvious benefit is how quickly body fat melts away when fasting. Another obvious benefit was yet another boost for my brain: attention and focus sharpened.

Conclusion

To summarise, my health optimising protocol consists of the following:

  • Daily Exercise
  • Carbon 60
  • Hydrogen
  • Cold Showers
  • Ketogenic Diet
  • Intermittent Fasting

Aside from cold showers and exercise, each element in the protocol helps reduce oxidative stress.

As mentioned earlier, I also make sure to eat foods rich in antioxidants, prebiotics and/or probiotics (Kale, Asparagus, Brussels Sprouts, Broccoli, Red Cabbage, Blueberries, Raspberries, Kombucha, Kefir, Kimchi…).

Last but not least, I take the following supplements:

  • Liposomal Vitamin C (antioxidant),
  • Liposomal Vitamin D & K,
  • Shilajit (rich in fulvic acid and minerals),
  • Turmeric & Black Pepper (antioxidant),
  • Yerba Mate (vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants).

After a year following this protocol:

  • I feel and look leaner and stronger,
  • I have more energy and stamina,
  • My will power, confidence and libido got a nice boost,
  • I feel more calm, serene and happy.

And these are just the external benefits I have observed. Inside of me, who knows… maybe I am getting a bit younger everyday. We’ll see about that once I have had my telomeres tested…

Have you been experimenting with C60, H2, cold showers, ketosis or intermittent fasting? I would love to hear about your experience. Please leave a comment in the section below or get in touch: research@optimizing.health

Live Long & Prosper. :)

This article can also be found on LinkedIn.

--

--

Hakim Mamoni
Optimizing Health

Technologist, Entrepreneur, Biohacker, Husband & Father.