AN UNEXPECTED PROPOSAL 2

Opemipo Omosa
Opywrites Stories
Published in
6 min readApr 13, 2022
Photo by Teddy Joseph: https://www.pexels.com/photo/man-wearing-black-notched-lapel-blazer-2955375/

Segun

“Mr Alex and Mr Dauda are here to see you” My secretary announced through the telecom.

“Let them in” I instructed as I attended to the message that had just come in through my phone.

Can’t wait to see you tonight babe. Love you.

I let out a soft groan. It wasn’t that I didn’t love my girlfriend. Quite the contrary, I did. It made sense to have her in my life especially since our relationship was orchestrated by both our parents.

I just love being alone and spending time with myself than I love spending time with her and I don’t know if that is a bad thing.

The door of my office swings open and my two best friends Alex and Dauda walk in like they own the place.

“Shege Shege” Alex hailed as he shook my hands. Dauda wasted no time in grabbing a seat and placing his legs on my table.

“Guy, this is an office” I said to Dauda with a laugh.

“And so? Did I tell you that I didn’t know that?” Dauda asked with a grin.

“I will soon chase you out of my office now”

“I’d like to see you try” Dauda said wiggling his legs.

Alex sat down on the chair opposite my desk while Dauda eventually removed his legs from my table.

Alex, Dauda and I met in University. We were roommates and have been close ever since then. They have been to me the brothers I never had.

“You didn’t tell me you were coming.”

“We were around and decided to stop by” Alex said.

“Where are you guys going to?” I asked.

“ The mall o.”

I was surprised that they were going to the mall. The only place my friends were ever comfortable going to was the club.

“Why are you going to the mall. Is anything happening there?” I asked with a suspicious look on my face.

“ We were actually on our way to eat lunch when Alex’s girl friend called and said he should get some things for her at the mall” Dauda explained.

Alex shook his head “If I had known that letting my girl move in with me would turn me to an errand boy, I would have declined fast fast.”

Hassan and I burst into laughter at Alex’s facial expression. He looked like he was going through a lot.

“Pele. Who send you message?” I asked, still laughing.

“Don’t worry, your own will soon come. The way I am looking at that Damilola, I know she will soon propose to you”.

“Abeg. Don’t swear for me”

We all let out hearty laughs as I stood up. “I’m even hungry so let’s go”.

Alex raised his eyebrows “You want to follow us to shop for my girlfriend.”

“You and who? I’m just following you for the lunch.” I said with a smirk.

We eventually got to the mall after getting lunch. Alex and Dauda took it upon themselves to mock me on how serious I am.

“Will you guys ever get tired of all this ‘I am too serious’ talk?” I asked rolling my eyes.

“Never” Dauda replied “You need to let lose. When was the last time you followed us to the club?”

“You know the club is not really my scene” I explained.

“It’s not even only about the club. You act like there are cameras everywhere watching you” Alex chipped in.

This was not the first time we were having this conversation Even though Alex and Dauda had known me for years, they still get bothered about the fact that I loved being well behaved no matter where I was. No matter how they complained, it was a part of me already. My father was a man who believed in decency and it was already ingrained in me.

“You guys are just bothered that I am not touts like you” I teased.

“You wish. See Shege, you live your life like it’s a business. We know you are the advertising man and branding is important but you have got to let lose. Your life is not a brand for public consumption.” Alex said.

“I let lose now.” I protested. “Me working in an advertising company has nothing to do with how I carry myself”

Dauda raised his brows “If you are really lose and not in your head, let me dare you to do something crazy”.

I felt panic rise in my chest. There was a reason I avoided Truth and dare in my school years but I was cornered.

“ If I carry out this dare, will you two stop disturbing my life?” I asked.

“ Yes, we will” Alex said.

“Okay”. I mean how bad could it be?

“Alright” Dauda said rubbing his hands together. “ I dare you to fake propose to a random girl”.

I raised my eye brow and shifted back a bit “Are you for real?”

Alex had already removed the ring he was wearing and was holding it out to me.

“You guys know I have a girlfriend” I protested.

“We are not asking you to propose for real. It’s just a dare.”

I sighed as I took the ring from Alex and looked round. Who the heck could I propose to?

At that moment, I saw a lady with a shopping bag moving towards the exit of the mall. It would be better to fake propose to her so I wouldn’t have to deal with the awkwardness of seeing her around the mall.

I snatch the ring from Alex and started running towards her to catch up. I could hear Alex laugh while Dauda said “He is doing it for real o”

I was able to block her and go on one knee. The look of shock on her face was priceless and it made me realize how ridiculous what I was doing was.

“Excuse me?” She asked.

I swallowed the bile in my throat as I let out the words “Will you marry me?”

Her eyes widened at my question.

“What?” She asked.

I let out an uncomfortable laugh “I’m so sorry. My two crazy friends dared me to propose to a stranger so that they can stop pestering me and that’s why I’m doing this’”

Her expression softened “Oh. I was scared”

“That’s understandable” I said smiling.

She brought out her hand “Let’s complete the dare”

“Thank you” I said as I slipped the ring down her ring finger.

She turned round to face my friends and flashed the ring at them while I got up. Alex and Dauda immediately started laughing while they raised their arms in excitement.

I had noticed some people stop to watch and that was uncomfortable for me but I waved it off.

She laughed as she turned back to face me, handing the ring back to me.

“Thank you…”

“…Pelumi”

“Pelumi” I repeated “I’m Segun”.

“Nice to meet you Segun. I have to go now” She said, smiling as she walked past me.

I walked back to my friends who were still laughing.

“You guys are mad” I retured Alex’s ring back to him.

“I’m surprised you did it” Dauda said with an impressed look.

“I told you I’m adventurous”

“If I hear. The girl is fine sha.” Alex commented.

“She’s okay”.

Alex was right. She was a pretty girl, with her pointed nose and dark skin plus her figure was to die for. I just wasn’t one to linger on girls that aren’t my girlfriend.

“Okay. Now that it’s done and dusted, can we move on?” I asked with a bored expression.

“Sure” Alex replied as we made our way to a cosmetic shop.

Thank you for reading episode two.

How do you think this will impact both Segun and Pelumi’s life?

Let me know in the comments. Follow me here to get updates.

If you can’t comment here, follow me on Instagram @opywrites for updates and to send your comments.

--

--

Opemipo Omosa
Opywrites Stories

I write fiction books with fun heroines. I also enjoy reading books and writing little musings in my head. Email:authoromosaopemipo@gmail.com