AN UNEXPECTED PROPOSAL EPISODE 3

Opemipo Omosa
Opywrites Stories
Published in
5 min readApr 20, 2022
Photo by Zen Chung: https://www.pexels.com/photo/smiling-african-american-young-woman-sitting-on-grass-and-using-smartphone-5538608/

It was still surreal what had happened the day before.

I spent the whole night thinking about the guy that had fake proposed to me at the mall. Although it was a harmless and fun event, it made me believe God had a sense of humor. I mean, what were the odds that I would get ‘proposed’ to after uttering a silly prayer.

Maybe it was a sign from God that my man was on his way and if that is the case, I am ready as ever.

I strolled into the Salon, excited to narrate everything that happened to Uloma, when I saw that Hauwa and Stephanie were in the shop.

Hauwa was the esthetician while Stephanie was the make up artist. I was a bit surprised to see them in the shop although I had no reason to. They worked there after all but something about the way they looked at me told me that me that there was more to them just being at the shop.

“Good morning” I greeted, not failing to show my suspicion through narrowed eyes as I dropped my bag on the counter. They were both sitted on the couch, looking at their phones.

“Good morning” Hauwa greeted with a wide grin which was unlike her. She was a nice lady but cheerful is definitely not a word I would use to describe her, yet that was the energy she was giving off.

Stephanie also had a smile on her face as she looked up from her phone. “Hi Pelumi”. She greeted.

I sat down on one of the chairs that the customers usually sat on and faced them “I wasn’t expecting you two to be here.” I said with a light smile.

Stephanie frowned “Why? We work here.”

“I know but you usually come in the afternoon and leave immediately” I look round “I don’t see your clients anywhere”.

Hauwa let out a small chuckle, she opened her mouth as if to say something but was interrupted by Uloma dashing into the shop.

Uloma immediately ran to me and gave me a hug, her fruity perfume filling up my nostrils. I was confused to say the least. I didn’t know she missed me that much.

“Congratulations!” She said as she drew back, her face filled with excitement. “I’m upset that you didn’t tell me but congratulations either way”

I frowned as I look at Stephanie and Hauwa who also had huge grins. They stood up to hug me and I accepted the hugs, still confused as ever.

“Wait. What’s going on? Congratulations for what?” I asked.

Uloma gave me a look that said ‘are you for real?’.

“Your engagement of course.” She sat down on the chair I had previously occupied “Even though you didn’t tell me, we found out.”

“Everyone in Nigeria found out you mean” Hauwa added.

My frown deepened as I looked at the three of them. “What do you mean by everyone in Nigeria?”

Stephanie rolled her eyes as she started pressing her phone. In a few minutes, she handed her phone to me so I could watch a video on it.

There it was.

My fake proposal of yesterday.

Recorded and posted on one of the biggest websites in Nigeria. It looked so real that if I was not me, I would think it was.

I watched to the end, hoping that the video will show where I returned the ring to him but it didn’t. Instead, it stopped at where I was showing off the ring to Segun’s friends.

My eyes widened and my mouth opened as I saw the headline of the video. ‘MILLIONAIRE AND PHILANTHROPIST, ADEBAYO ADEBOWALE’S SON, SEGUN ADEBOWALE, PROPOSES TO GIRLFRIEND AT VICTORIA MALL. VIDEO BELOW’.

My mouth still remained opened as I handed Stephanie’s phone to her. “You are lucky though. A whole millionaire’s son” Stephanie commented.

“And I heard the guy too is doing well for himself. He works at an advertising company, right?” Hauwa asked me.

I closed my mouth, not knowing what to say. I literally knew nothing about this man, yet videos were posted everywhere of our fake proposal.

“I would think that someone as classy as he is would propose somewhere classier than a mall” Stephanie said. If I wasn’t mistaken, I could sense a hint of spite in her words. Which was unlike Stephanie. She was usually nicer than Hauwa. Even if she was jealous of me, there was no need because it’s not true.

“It doesn’t matter” Uloma said, jumping to my defense “ Proposing in a mall will not take away the fact that she is engaged to a great man.”

“How does it feel, Pelumi?” Hauwa asked as she sat back down on the couch.

“Shocking”

“I can imagine. You probably didn’t expect him to propose”

“Not at all”

“I’m so happy for you Pelumi. You deserve it” Uloma said “I’m still struggling to get Chika to take me out on a date”.

I furrow my brows “Who is Chika?”

The look on Uloma’s face showed that she didn’t mean to say it out loud. She lets out a sigh “Okay. Since we are talking about men in our lives. He is a guy I met on a dating site. “

I sat down next to her “I thought you hate dating sites”.

“I do. I just wanted to play around o but he was so charming.”

“Is he the guy that you were waiting for yesterday?”

“Yeah. He is but he didn’t show up.”
“Wait.” Stephanie interjected “ Have you guys even met?”

“No” Uloma answered “Should I be worried?”

“It depends on how long you have been talking” Hauwa replied.

“Well, 3 months.”

Stephanie shook her head “You might need to forget about him babe. 3 months and he stood you up? That’s a red flag.”

“He is just a busy man!” Uloma protested.

“And I am Usain Bolt” Stephanie rolled her eyes “You have to be careful with guys on dating sites. Some of them are not who they say they are and the reason they don’t meet on time is that they are mustering up courage to finally expose their ugly selves”

“You seem to have experience” Hauwa teased.

“I’ve been here and there” Stephanie said casually. “The dating world is the real ghetto”

“I know he is not like that sha” Uloma said with a pout.

My phone vibrated in my pocket. I brought it out and saw a message from my mother.

WE NEED TO TALK. COME TO MY PLACE TODAY.

There’s no doubt.

She had seen the video.

Thank you for reading. What are your thoughts on the viral video?

Don’t forget to share and clap for this episode as well as leave a comment.

You can follow me on Instagram @opywrites for updates.

--

--

Opemipo Omosa
Opywrites Stories

I write fiction books with fun heroines. I also enjoy reading books and writing little musings in my head. Email:authoromosaopemipo@gmail.com