Diary of An Addicted Killer (short story)

Dear Diary, I killed someone today

Opemipo Omosa
Opywrites Stories
3 min readJun 22, 2021

--

Photo by Joren Aranas on Unsplash

Dear Diary,

I know that the last time I wrote to you, I said I wasn’t going to kill again but you have to hear me out first. This one is definitely justified.

One thing you should understand is that I am not purposely trying to kill people. I don’t even want to do it. They are asking for it. I feel that if I ever get caught, the judge would understand. He or she would understand that some people don’t deserve to live and that’s the plain truth. If you don’t believe me, let’s take a look at the people I have helped out in life by taking their life because, at the end of the day, I am doing humanity a good service by getting rid of the people making this world unsafe for others.

Killing my boss meant every other person at the office could finally breathe because that man was a nuisance. He was always barking orders at us like we were not humans.

Caroline deserved to die. She was a Twitter troll and although I don’t know her on a personal level, I didn’t need to. She was making people depressed by her demeaning tweets. I couldn’t stand back and watch her possibly put people in harm’s way by prompting them to almost commit suicide.

And surely, I should be justified for killing a corrupt politician’s son. We met at the club and it was an opportunity that comes only once in a lifetime. That was my time to make a difference. Besides, he was kind of sexist.

So what happened today?

I was walking on the streets of Lagos in the evening, minding my darn business when this lady in a suit bumps into me. I would have let it go. I swear that I would have let it go if she didn’t embarrass me by cussing me out on the road.

What did you expect me to do? I can’t just ignore it. This world needs fewer people like that. Don’t you think?

So I followed her home.

It wasn’t hard at all. All I had to do was walk some steps further away for a bit, turn back and I followed her home. Easy peasy, lemon squeezy. Her house wasn’t even nice but I am happy it was in a secluded area and lucky for me, I had my pocket knife in my pocket. You know, the one I carry around for protection.

As she searched for her keys in her bag, I grabbed her from behind and slit her throat.

Now that I think of this and I am writing this, maybe I shouldn’t have killed her. Maybe I should have insulted her back and moved on but at that point what did you expect me to do? I couldn’t just let her get away with it.

I think I should stop acting on impulse.

I mean, I don’t feel bad at all for what I did but it seems like the bodies are starting to get a bit too much.

Maybe this is the last one.

Hopefully.

--

--

Opemipo Omosa
Opywrites Stories

I write fiction books with fun heroines. I also enjoy reading books and writing little musings in my head. Email:authoromosaopemipo@gmail.com