Eleta transfornation transformen sopage yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

This well-known data company could be reversing the ETL to ELT shift

Of all the ETL Tool Providers, it might surprise you to learn who is driving a change back to ETL

Orchestra’s Data Release Pipeline Blog
5 min readFeb 25, 2024

--

About me

I’m Hugo Lu — I started my career working in M&A in London before moving to JUUL and falling into data engineering. After a brief stint back in finance, I headed up the Data function at London-based Fintech Codat. I’m now CEO at Orchestra, which is a data release pipeline tool that helps Data Teams release data into production reliably and efficiently 🚀

Also check out our Substack and our internal blog ⭐️

Introduction

ETL or “Extract-Transform and Load” is a data engineering paradigm that’s probably been around for as long as Data Engineering itself.

However, with the advent of the cloud the need to transform the data in place or in transit became unnecessary.

This was summarised well by Joe in one of his recent blog posts

I recall the founders of some company called Fivetran cold-emailing me back in 2015 or 2016. They described some crazy idea of moving data from Postgres to Redshift (also built on Postgres) and described something called “ELT.” I sat back in my chair…

--

--

Hugo Lu
Orchestra’s Data Release Pipeline Blog

I write on Data engineering and the coolest data stuff. CEO@ Orchestra, the best-in-class data pipeline management platform. https://app.getorchestra.io/signup