Tis the Season

LadyGhilaine
The Game of Why
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readDec 1, 2016

It may well be the season to be jolly, I hope it is for you. It is a funny time of year. Lots of things going on pointing to Christmas and everyone running around with a busyness that is contagious but not always productive. People want to get things done in time so they can shut down and take a lovely break.

I hope you manage to do all that you need and get yourself set for a stress-free holiday season whichever way you celebrate (or not).

I am waiting for a special package this year, my brother is expecting his first child and it is likely to arrive later than it should, but close to Christmas. He is the youngest in my family and ready for the responsibility. I am very excited to see him grow even more into the man he has become.

I say this as an opener of how the expectations that others have about you can be really frustrating and not warranted, but you can change them. As I say, my brother is the youngest and he has been burdened with us treating him like a child for far too long. Whilst not close in age, we are close in mindedness and get on very well. He has become one of the wisest people I know, to the shock of the rest of my family, some of whom still treat him like he is 10. He manages this burden well considering it can be so frustrating and in the process of the 9 months it takes for a child to be grown, the family are now seeing him in the light that they should.

He is now embracing this role and can finally shine as brightly as he should. It has taken a long time coming, but with patience and a lot of work, expectations are changing. I hope that gives you a little bit of hope if you find that people are underestimating what you can achieve.

A very personal letter this time, don’t hold it against me, I am getting sentimental in my old age (and looking forward to the new human about to crash into the peace and quiet!)

I will be taking the new year off and so will send another note out in February, not January.

--

--