My Top 30 Things of 2019

Chris Mead
Ordinary/Extraordinary
6 min readJan 4, 2020

Being a retrospective of my 2019, consisting of new things that delighted me.

Scary Pockets

Scary Pockets are a brilliant YouTube band that do funk covers of pop classics. They put a couple of new tracks out each week. I love this kind of thing.
Mmm Bop. Kiss from a Rose. 2 Become 1. Brown Eyed Girl. Toss a Coin to your Witcher.

The Peanut Butter Falcon

The very last film I saw in 2019 and one of my absolute favourites. Daring escapes, a road trip narrative, redneck wrestling and a heart as big as the sea.

Hotel Chocolat Velvetiser

This is a beautiful object. And it makes an amazing hot chocolate. That is all I need in life — beauty and endless cups of salted caramel.

Jackbox Games Party Pack

The greatest party games I’ve ever experienced. 8 players and you use your phone as the controller. Stunning use of technology. Made by improvisers.

You’re the Worst series finale

All the characters are horrible people. No one really learns anything. It’s mostly sex and bad language. Also, I’m low key in love with Kether Donohue.

The Sharpe Books Series

I started reading Sharpe’s Tiger on Christmas Eve 2018. Twenty one novels and three short stories later I’m currently reading the final book. Epic.

Documentary Now (in general) and Co-op (in particular)

I don’t know how a series like this got made. It’s so esoteric and compelling and dense. But it’s unquestionably a work of comedy genius.

Long Shot

I wan’t sure I was going to like this movie. But I really, really liked it. Perhaps I just miss The West Wing too much?

Oculus Quest

No other gadget in the history of technology has ever made me feel like I was living in the future more than the Oculus Quest. Virtual Reality — no wires.

Murder of Crows

My big improv discovery of 2019. I was absolutely blown away by Murder of Crows’ film noir show in Copenhagen. Can’t wait to see them again.

Logbooks

Austin Kleon recommended this. At the end of each day you write down in a list what you did, saw, ate, talked about. A writer needs to curate experiences.

Shoplifters

I love Hirokazu Kore-eda. I love Japan. So I loved this beautiful film about family and where you find it.

Succession

A funny, complex, achingly-gorgeous show about a family who are everything that is wrong with our society. I didn’t expect to like it. But I loved it.

Habitica

I find I’m much better at forming habits when I’m accountable. This app turns productivity into an RPG and lets me level up in a world of swords & magic.

Union Chapel

How does a building get such perfect acoustics? A little bit of design. A little bit of luck. A little bit of magic.

The White Hart, Witley

Sample menu item: Brexit Through the Gift Shop Burger — classic burger, bacon, cheese, braised cabbage, fried spam, deep-fried pot noodle.

Knives Out

I would watch this movie for the cast alone. The fact that it has a razor-sharp script and a proper plays-fair-with-the-clues narrative is just a bonus.

Spider-man (PS4)

THEY GOT THE SWINGING RIGHT. And that’s all this game needs. Truthfully, I spent days ignoring the main game and just zooming round New York.

The Mandalorian

“Awww, LOOK AT IT. Look at its BIG EYES. It’s eating soup. Now it’s pulling a lever that it can’t quite reach. I CAN’T STAND IT. AHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!”

Book Smart & Good Boys

Both these films are in the genre of ‘young people being funny, falling over a lot and generally having a night that’ll change who they are … forever’.
Superbad but not men
Superbad but tiny

Peg Doll Doctors from Heartistic

My sister made me peg doll versions of all the Doctors. Talk about favourite things of the year. I love them to distraction. Head over to Heartistic for more.

This Way Up

Fleabag made it profitable to commission other non-male writer/ performers to create interesting stories. This one gut-punched me in the funny bone.

Plus One

A RomCom in which the female protagonist gets to be the screwed up loser with all the funniest lines for once.

Barry

I like all of Barry but there is one episode in the middle of Season 2 that comes out of nowhere and proves to be an absolute revelation. KARATE!

Shoryu

2019 was the year of ramen for me. It is delicious and it gives you super powers like ultra-dense bones and pouty lips. Shoryu is the best in London.

Ingrid Michaelson

Saw her at the Union Chapel. She had a stinking cold and a sore throat. She still blew the roof off the place.

One Cut of the Dead

I want to encourage you to watch this film while simultaneously entreating you to read and watch nothing about it beforehand.

Hannah Gadsby

Hello. It’s really important that you watch Nanette if you haven’t. I’m not sure my self-imposed two lines of description can even approach doing it justice.

The Farewell

This was my favourite film of 2019.

Honourable mentions

Hot priests. Blinks. Beef Wellington Croquettes. The Lasters. Turbo bacon. 16" Macbook. Ghost of Love. Sofia. Catastrophe. Sex Education. Strasbourg. Superman’s Pal Jimmy Olsen. Grain-free waffles. The Wicked + The Divine. Sourdough Cinnamon Scrolls. The Expanse. What We Do In The Shadows. Crazy Ex-Girlfriend. Sincerely, Raymond Holt. Japanese mascots. Shrill. Oatly. Singing lessons. Overcooked. Improv Boost. Detroiters. Butter Beer. Couch to 5k. The Chain. Bubble. Rubik’s Cube of the future. Breadsticks. 3D Hologram Murder Mystery. Monkey Island Improv.

Hi there. My name’s Chris Mead. I’m an improviser, writer & theatre-maker living and working in the UK. You can find our more about me at mrchrismead.com or SUBSCRIBE TO MY NEWSLETTER. Thanks for reading!

--

--