Getting Started

Kirsten Byman
Organization as a Key to Sucess
2 min readSep 25, 2017

Over the past couple days, I have been working on new routines to help organize myself. I have made it a goal of mine from the beginning of the semester to become more organized and it has not fully been working. I have decided to try a new attempt at organization after reading parts of Organization: Contemporary Principles and Practice. In this, Child writes “Organizing […] requires a degree of control, so as to monitor progress against original intentions and to make appropriate adjustments along the way.” This quote specifically stuck out to me because I realized that I had to start making changes to what I was doing. This started with a full reevaluation of how to organize. I decided this time to start with decluttering. I realized that the biggest thing that I needed was to start with a blank space, or clean slate. This is necessary because from their I can work towards keeping it clean. I started with my desk because that is where I do most of my school work and a very important piece in making sure I am getting done everything that I need to finish. I began by looking and taking anything that does not belong on a desk and is not needed for schoolwork and finding a better location for it to go. Once I cleared that up, I realized that there was not too much left to be done. After a few finishing touches, I decided it was finally complete and that now I would just have to work on keeping it this way rather than letting unnecessary things build up on my desk.

This was how my desk was before I started it clean it. It is very cluttered and messy, which is not good when trying to have a productive work environment. There is many things on this desk that are not needed in a work space
This was the final product after and clearly it is much more work efficient. I now have space to lay out any books I might need for class to do any work that needs to be done.

Works Cited

Child, John. Organization: Contemporary Principles and Practice, John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated, 2015. ProQuest Ebook Central. Created from buffalo on 2017–09–24 19:21:52.

--

--